Skip to content Skip to footer
Search
PwC

Menu

Events

Loading Results

What FinSA and FinIA mean for Swiss financial institutions

Dr. Günther Dobrauz Partner and Leader Legal, PwC Switzerland 22 Jul 2018

Parliament adopted FinSA and FinIA in mid-June to create a level competitive playing field for financial intermediaries and to improve customer protection. PwC Legal Switzerland has published a brochure on the new financial market regulation that offers an overview of the most important topics and how they affect financial service providers.

Following an extended consultation period, the Financial Services Act (FinSA) and the Financial Institutions Act (FinIA) were approved by parliament on 15 June 2018 and are set to come into force on 1 January 2020.

In addition to improved customer protection, the main purpose of the new laws is to align Swiss and EU regulations. Furthermore, FinSA and FinIA set out organisational structures to help financial intermediaries implement the principles of the new regulation in their internal processes.

FinSA and FinIA generally share the same goals as the European financial market guideline MiFID II; however, FinSA and FinIA include many areas that are either covered in another EU regulation such as the PRIIP or prospectus regulation, are completely new or complement existing regulations.

Investor protection a priority

FinSA aims to provide more robust and long-term protection for investors by establishing harmonised rules on transparency and avoiding conflicts of interest as well as on compliance with standard practice for due diligence.

Investor protection covers areas such as

  • Client classification
  • Duty to provide information
  • Suitability and appropriateness tests
  • Duty to keep records
  • Best execution

Governance to avoid conflicts of interest

Requirements for internal governance ensure that companies implement and carry out their statutory duties with respect to investor protection and transparency towards customers in a conscientious and sustainable manner. The regulations cover organisational measures and directives and address conflicts of interest.

One of the most discussed topics in relation to FinSA and MiFID II is conflicts of interest, particularly the issue of compensation for third parties (inducements). Here, the Swiss regulation differs significantly from MiFID II, as customers have the power to prevent such disbursements.

The PwC brochure also explains the following:

  • Registration of advisors
  • The duty to publish a prospectus
  • Key information document

The brochure also lists which topics are covered by MiFID II that are not included in FinSA.

Who may do what?

FinIA sets out the requirements governing the activities of financial institutions. FinIA stipulates the licensing requirements for wealth managers, trustees, asset managers, fund managers and investment firms, whereby the nature of their business is defined by the activities they actually carry out and not their legal structure. This increases the scope of application.

Finally, the detailed, real-life overview of the new regulation describes the penalties for breaches against FinSA and FinIA, the transitional provisions, and provides an insight into the exact implementation requirements that the federal government may issue.

Now that the legal texts have been published, PwC Legal recommends companies to establish their own interpretation so they can take the necessary steps towards implementing the regulation.


Contact

Dr. Günther Dobrauz

Partner and Leader Legal, Zurich, PwC Switzerland

+41 58 792 14 97

E-Mail

Philipp Rosenauer

Head Regulatory Implementation Services, Legal, Zurich, PwC Switzerland

+41 58 792 18 56

E-Mail

Martin Liebi

Director, Legal, Zürich, PwC Switzerland

+41 58 792 28 86

E-Mail

Dr. Jean-Claude Spillmann

Director, Head Asset & Wealth Management and Banking Regulatory, Legal, Zurich, PwC Switzerland

+41 58 792 43 94

E-Mail

Was bedeuten FIDLEG und FINIG für Schweizer Finanzinstitute?

Dr. Günther Dobrauz Partner & Leader PwC Legal Switzerland, PwC Switzerland 10 Jul 2018

Start adding items to your reading lists:
or
Save this item to:
This item has been saved to your reading list.

Die Mitte Juni vom Parlament verabschiedeten Gesetzesvorlagen FIDLEG und FINIG sollen einheitliche Wettbewerbsbedingungen für Finanzintermediäre schaffen und den Kundenschutz verbessern. PwC Legal Schweiz liefert in der Broschüre zur neuen Finanzmarktregulierung einen Überblick über die wichtigsten Themengebiete und ihre Konsequenzen für Finanzdienstleister.

Nach längerer Vernehmlassungszeit wurden das Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz (FIDLEG) und das Finanzinstitutsgesetz (FINIG) am 15. Juni 2018 vom Parlament verabschiedet, und die beiden Regulierungen werden voraussichtlich am 1. Januar 2020 in Kraft treten.

Neben verbessertem Kundenschutz ist das primäre Ziel der neuen Gesetze, mit der EU-Regelung gleichzuziehen. Zudem beabsichtigen sowohl FIDLEG als auch FINIG, entsprechende organisatorische Strukturen zu schaffen, sodass Finanzintermediäre die Prinzipien der neuen Regulierung in ihren internen Prozessen implementieren können. 

Grundsätzlich verfolgen FIDLEG und FINIG ähnliche Ziele wie die europäische Finanzmarktrichtlinie MiFID II, allerdings werden sowohl im FIDLEG als auch im FINIG viele Themengebiete behandelt, die sich entweder in einer anderen EU-Verordnung wie die PRIIP Verordnung oder auch die Prospekt Verordnung finden, vollständig neu oder auch komplementär sind.

Anlegerschutz hat oberste Priorität

Unter dem Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz FIDLEG sollen die Interessen der Anleger besser und nachhaltig geschützt werden. Dies wird erreicht durch vereinheitlichte Vorschriften zur Transparenz und zur generellen Vermeidung von Interessenskonflikten sowie zur Einhaltung der standesüblichen Sorgfaltspflichten.

Zum Thema Anlegerschutz gehören Themen wie 

  • Kundenklassifizierung
  • Informationspflicht
  • Angemessenheits- und Eignungsprüfungen 
  • Dokumentationspflicht 
  • Best-Execution 

Governance zur Vermeidung von Interessenskonflikten

Die Anforderungen an die interne Governance dienen dazu, dass die vorgeschriebenen Pflichten in Bezug auf Anlegerschutz und Transparenz gegenüber dem Kunden sorgfältig und nachhaltig im Unternehmen umgesetzt und gelebt werden können. Die Vorschriften betreffen organisatorische Massnahmen respektive das Weisungswesen und adressieren Interessenskonflikte. 

Im Zusammenhang mit FIDLEG und MiFID II sind Interessenskonflikte wohl eines der am heftigsten diskutierten Themen. Im Fokus steht dabei vor allem die Entschädigungen von Dritten (Inducements). In diesem Bereich ist eine wesentliche Differenz zu MiFID II zu beobachten, da es dem Kunden gestattet ist, auf die Weiterleitung der Zuwendungen zu verzichten. Diese Option ist unter MiFID II nicht gegeben. 

Weitere Punkte, die in der PwC-Broschüre aufgegriffen und erklärt werden, sind folgende:

  • Registrierung von Beratern 
  • Prospektpflicht 
  • Basisinformationsblatt

Es wird auch aufgeführt, welche Themen FIDLEG im Vergleich zu MiFID II nicht abdeckt.

Wer darf was?

Das Finanzinstitutsgesetz FINIG regelt die Anforderungen an die Tätigkeit der Finanzinstitute. FINIG definiert die Bewilligungspflicht für Vermögensverwalter, Trustees, Asset Manager, Fondsleitungen und Wertpapierhäuser, wobei die Definition dieser Institute nicht über die Rechtsform erfolgt, sondern über die ausgeübten Tätigkeiten, welche den Anwendungskreis eröffnen. 

Die Strafen bei Verstössen gegen FIDLEG und FINIG, Übergangsbestimmungen, sowie einen Ausblick, was vom Bundesrat in Bezug auf die Spezifikation der exakten Umsetzungsvorgaben noch erwartet werden kann, runden den detaillierten und praxisnahen Überblick über die neue Regulierung ab. 

Nach der nun erfolgten Veröffentlichung der Gesetzestexte empfiehlt PwC Legal Unternehmen, eine interne Auslegeordnung zu erstellen, um die notwendigen Schritte zur Implementierung in Angriff nehmen zu können.