Internal Audit: key findings and themes

2019 State of the Internal Audit Profession Study

Internal Audit is on the cusp of leveraging the benefits of digitalisation. This will transform the way it operates (more efficiently and effectively) and help IA teams achieve recognition for their value-added services. To fully leverage the potential benefits of digital, IA leaders need a systematic approach to integrating digital tools and new ways of working while continuously upskilling their teams:


  • IA has a relatively low level of involvement with digital initiatives compared with other assurance functions: only 28% of respondents reported that IA was ‘always involved with managing risks of digital initiatives’, compared with 37% for risk and 36% for compliance.
  • IA appears unsure of its role in relation to emerging technologies: the newer the technology, the more unsure they appear. For example:
  • Blockchain: 51% are unsure of IA’s role. Only 18% are adding skills and processes to audit this technology, 31% have not taken any steps, and 0% reported that they are fully capable of auditing it.
  • Artificial intelligence: 51% are unsure of IA’s role; 22% are reportedly adding skills and processes to audit this technology, 34% have not taken any steps, and 0% reported that they are fully capable of auditing it.
  • Drones: 68% are unsure of IA’s role; 7% are reportedly adding skills and processes to audit this technology, 26% have not taken any steps, and 0% reported that they are fully capable of auditing it.
  • The situation appears to be more pronounced with European IA functions: 66% of global respondents perceived IA as adding significant value compared with 53% in Europe.
  • IA has a relatively low level of ‘value add’ activities. For example, only 20% are looking beyond standard IA functions and undertaking value-added tasks such as root cause analysis.
  • The good news is that IA appears to be on the cusp of a significant transformation:
  • 54% of global respondents are upskilling their talent in IA.
  • 60% are empowering specific individuals to address IA/digitalisation issues. This finding is reinforced by the interviews, for example with Syngenta: “You don’t need every single team member to be fully digital, but you need part of the team to be fully on board”.

Insights

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}


Interviews

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}


Contact us

Richard Thomas

Richard Thomas

Risk Consulting Leader (Trade, Industry, Services), Territory Leader Internal Audit, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 79 816 27 00

Interne Revision: Hauptergebnisse und -themen

2019 State of the Internal Audit Profession Study

Die interne Revision steht unmittelbar davor, die Vorteile der Digitalisierung für sich nutzbar zu machen. Dadurch wird nicht nur die Arbeitsweise tiefgreifend verändert (weil effizienter und effektiver), sondern auch eine höhere Wertschätzung für den Mehrwert, den die IR-Teams generieren, erzielt. Um die potenziellen Vorteile der Digitalisierung voll auszuspielen, benötigen die IR-Führungskräfte einen systematischen Ansatz zur Einbindung digitaler Tools und neue Arbeitsformen bei gleichzeitiger Weiterqualifizierung ihrer Teams:


  • Im Verhältnis zu anderen Assurance-Bereichen verfügt die IR über einen relativ niedrigen Beteiligungsgrad mit Blick auf Digitalisierungsinitiativen: Nur 28% der Befragten berichteten von einer „stetigen Einbindung in die Steuerung von Risiken im Rahmen von Digitalisierungsinitiativen“, verglichen mit 37% bei Risiko und 36% bei Compliance.
  • Die IR erscheint sich ihrer Rolle in Bezug auf die neue Technologien unsicher: je neuer die Technologie desto höher die Unsicherheit. Beispiel:
  • Blockchain: 51% sind unsicher in Bezug auf die Rolle der IR. Nur 18% bauen Revisionskompetenzen und -prozesse für diese Technologie aus, 31% haben keinerlei Schritte ergriffen und 0% gaben an, komplett in der Lage zu sein, eine solche Revision durchzuführen.
  • Künstliche Intelligenz: 51% sind unsicher in Bezug auf die Rolle der IR. Nur 22% bauen nach eigenen Angaben Revisionskompetenzen und -prozesse für diese Technologie aus, 34% haben keinerlei Schritte ergriffen und 0% gaben an, komplett in der Lage zu sein, eine solche Revision durchzuführen.
  • Drohnen: 68% sind unsicher in Bezug auf die Rolle der IR. Nur 7% bauen nach eigenen Angaben Revisionskompetenzen und -prozesse für diese Technologie aus, 26% haben keinerlei Schritte ergriffen und 0% gaben an, komplett in der Lage zu sein, eine solche Revision durchzuführen.
  • Noch ausgeprägter erscheint die Situation bei europäischen IR-Funktionen: 66% der globalen Befragten nahmen die IR als signifikant wertschöpfend wahr, verglichen mit 53% in Europa.
  • Die IR verfügt über einen relativ niedrigen Grad an „wertschöpfenden“ Aktivitäten. So blicken etwa nur 20% über die Standardfunktionen der IR hinaus und unternehmen wertsteigernde Aufgaben, zum Beispiel Ursachenanalyse.
  • Die gute Neuigkeit: Die IR steht offenbar unmittelbar vor einem tiefgreifenden Wandel:
  • 54% der globalen Befragten sind mit dem Kompetenzausbau ihres Personals in der IR befasst.
  • 60% beauftragen bestimmte Personen damit, sich mit dem Themenkomplex IR/Digitalisierung zu befassen. Dieses Ergebnis erhärtet sich im Rahmen der Interviews, zum Beispiel mit Syngenta: „Nicht jedes Teammitglied muss umfassend ‚digitalisiert‘ sein, aber ein Teil des Teams muss in die gleiche Richtung gehen wie Sie.“

Insights

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}

{{contentList.dataService.numberHits}} {{contentList.dataService.numberHits == 1 ? 'result' : 'results'}}
{{contentList.loadingText}}

Interviews

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}

{{contentList.dataService.numberHits}} {{contentList.dataService.numberHits == 1 ? 'result' : 'results'}}
{{contentList.loadingText}}

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Andreas Eschbach

Andreas Eschbach

Partner & Leader Smart Contract Assurance, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 27 84

Richard Thomas

Richard Thomas

Partner and Territory Leader Internal Audit, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 79 816 27 00