Risk in Review: key findings and themes

2019 Risk in Review Study

Although cybersecurity is rated as the most important risk associated with digital initiatives, there’s room for improvement in terms of integrating assurance functions in digital risks and having the skill levels to successfully manage such risks. The lack of process integration of assurance functions on digital initiatives compared with the level of involvement on external reporting of data breaches suggests that they are being brought in too late in the process to help manage cyber/digital risks:


  • Cybersecurity risk: 51% of respondents rate cybersecurity as the number one risk associated with digital initiatives.
  • Cybersecurity reporting: Just over half (55%) described their risk, IA or compliance function as integrated to fully integrated into ‘the exchange of information – such as data involving data incidents – with external sources such as industry associations’.
  • Digital risk integration: Less than half of the risk, IA or compliance function were ‘always involved’ in the management of risks stemming from digital initiatives: risk 37%, IA 28% and compliance 36%.
  • Digital skills: Only 33% described their risk, IA or compliance function as having team members with ‘digital or data analytics skills’ integrated to fully integrated into the workforce.
  • Digital initiatives have enabled better risk prediction and management. There are further opportunities for influencing senior executives and boards in relation to providing the right risk levels around digital initiatives.
  • Better risk prediction: 54% of global respondents agreed or strongly agreed that digitalisation has provided them with better risk prediction. The same proportion ranked this as the top benefit from the risk, IA or compliance function being involved in digital initiatives.
  • Risk management and digital initiatives: 54% of respondents were ‘actively balancing risk management and risk appetite’ around the implementation of digital initiatives. 49% agreed or strongly agreed that they were working with “senior executives and boards” to make such adjustments.

Insights

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}

{{contentList.dataService.numberHits}} {{contentList.dataService.numberHits == 1 ? 'result' : 'results'}}
{{contentList.loadingText}}

Interviews

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}

{{contentList.dataService.numberHits}} {{contentList.dataService.numberHits == 1 ? 'result' : 'results'}}
{{contentList.loadingText}}

Contact us

Andreas Eschbach

Andreas Eschbach

Partner & Leader Smart Contract Assurance, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 27 84

Yan Borboën

Yan Borboën

Partner Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 84 59

Marc Buser

Marc Buser

Assurance Senior Manager, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 2826

Risikoüberprüfung: Hauptergebnisse und -themen

2019 Risk in Review Study

Zwar gilt Cybersicherheit als das grösste Risiko in Verbindung mit Digitalisierungsinitiativen, aber mit Blick auf die Einbindung von Assurance-Funktionen in digitale Risiken und das Erreichen des Kompetenzniveaus für die erfolgreiche Steuerung dieser Risiken ist noch Luft nach oben. Die mangelnde Prozessintegration von Assurance-Funktionen bei Digitalisierungsinitiativen im Vergleich zu dem Grad der Einbindung bei der externen Meldung von Datenschutzverstössen zeigt, dass sie zu spät in den Prozess eingebunden werden, um digitale Risiken bzw. Cyberrisiken mitzusteuern:


  • Cybersicherheitsrisiko: 51% der Befragten nennen «Cybersicherheit» als Hauptrisiko in Verbindung mit Digitalisierungsinitiativen.
  • Cybersecurity-Reporting: Gut die Hälfte (55%) bezeichneten ihre Risiko-, IR- oder Compliance-Funktion als eingebunden bis voll eingebunden in den ‚Austausch von Informationen – etwa Daten in Verbindung mit Datenschutzvorfällen – mit externen Quellen wie Industrieverbänden‘.
  • Einbindung in digitales Risikomanagement: Weniger als die Hälfte der Risiko-, IR- oder Compliance-Funktionen waren ‚immer eingebunden‘ in die Steuerung von Risiken in Verbindung mit Digitalisierungsinitiativen: Risiko 37%, IR 28% und Compliance 36%.
  • Digitale Kompetenzen: Nur 33% gaben an, dass ihre Risiko-, IR- oder Compliance-Funktion über Teammitglieder mit ‚Kompetenzen in Digitalisierung und Datenanalyse‘ verfügt, die in die Belegschaft integriert bis voll integriert sind.
  • Digitalisierungsinitiativen haben eine bessere Risikoprognose und -steuerung möglich gemacht. Für die Einflussnahme auf Führungskräfte der Senior-Ebene und Vorstände in Bezug auf die Bereitstellung angemessener Risikoniveaus rund um Digitalisierungsinitiativen gibt es noch weitere Möglichkeiten.
  • Bessere Risikoprognose: 54% der Befragten weltweit stimmten der Aussage zu oder ausdrücklich zu, dass die Digitalisierung für sie zu einer besseren Risikoprognose geführt hat. Der gleiche Anteil der Befragten stufte dies als den Hauptvorteil der Einbindung von Risiko, IR oder Compliance in Digitalisierungsinitiativen ein.
  • Risikomanagement und Digitalisierungsinitiativen: 54% der Befragten zeigten ein aktives Bestreben, bei der Umsetzung digitaler Initiativen ein Gleichgewicht zwischen Risikomanagement und Risikobereitschaft herzustellen. 49% stimmten der Aussage zu oder ausdrücklich zu, dass sie mit dem Ziel solcher Anpassungen mit Führungskräften der Senior-Ebene und Vorständen zusammenarbeiten.

Insights

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}


Interviews

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}


Kontaktieren Sie uns

Alexandra Burns

Alexandra Burns

Director, Risk, Compliance, Internal Audit, Financial Services, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 46 28

Andreas Eschbach

Andreas Eschbach

Partner & Leader Smart Contract Assurance, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 27 84

Yan Borboën

Yan Borboën

Partner Digital Assurance and Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 84 59