Swiss edition of the

«24th Annual CEO

Survey»

111 Swiss CEOs gave answers on how they are dealing with the effects of COVID-19. But also about the opportunities and risks associated with the accelerated digital transformation.

From CEO to CEO

In uncertain times, only one thing is certain: change. What challenges are Swiss CEOs facing? And what opportunities do these challenges present? We’ve compiled the answers to these and similar questions in our 24th Global Annual CEO Survey 2021 – and this year we’ve again published a separate Swiss edition.

Download the Swiss edition now

Playback of this video is not currently available

1:41

Into the future with optimism and drive

Andreas Staubli, CEO, PwC Switzerland

Our findings in a nutshell

Optimistic outlook for company growth 

Swiss companies are not only optimistic about a global economic comeback, but also about the development of their companies. 84% are convinced that their company’s revenue will grow over the next 12 months. 93% are confident that they will achieve increased revenue over the next three years.

Accelerated transformation processes 

The pandemic has caused decision-makers to question their business principles and strategic direction, resulting in the need for continuous digital transformation becoming the new axiom. 92% of the Swiss CEOs who took part in the survey plan to step up their investment in the digital transformation in the next three years. By global comparison, this figure is 83%.

Find out more in our Swiss report. 

Swiss CEOs are greatly concerned about cyber threats

Swiss CEOs see the threat of cyber attacks as one of the greatest risks for their company’s growth (43%). This is highlighted in particular by international comparison. While 93% of surveyed Swiss CEOs are concerned about cyber threats, the international equivalent of this figure is 8% lower.

Regulation influences risk management

84% of Swiss CEOs use risk management to address cyber threats. Globally, the comparable figure is only 59%. This reflects the fact that in Switzerland some industries – financial service providers, for example – are heavily regulated. For them, cyber threats are, by law, part of day-to-day risk management.

Find out more in our Swiss report. 

Availability of key skills still a major concern 

Even COVID-19 was not able to change the fact that almost two thirds of Swiss CEOs are still concerned about the availability of key qualifications. This represents a fall of 5% compared to last year but is most likely due to the adaptability, agility and resilience of employees. 

The role of the state

79% of those who took part in the Swiss study consider competent, well trained and adaptable employees to be one of the key requirements for business success. The equivalent global figure is 61%. But 79% of Swiss CEOs believe that this falls under the government’s area of responsibility. One of the reasons for this is no doubt the strong collaboration between the private and public sectors when it comes to the development and supply of talent, as is the case with the dual education and vocational training system, for instance. 

Find out more in our Swiss report. 

Low need for action in Switzerland despite increasing relevance 

62% of the surveyed CEOs in Switzerland are concerned about climate change, which is a rise of 11% compared to last year. But only 47% of Swiss decision-makers are increasing their long-term investments in sustainability and environment, social and governance (ESG) initiatives as a result of the COVID-19 crisis. The equivalent global figure is 60%. The reason for this may be that Swiss companies have been actively addressing the issue for quite a few years now and so the need to make bigger investments is lower than in other countries.

The question of who is responsible remains unclear  

At the same time, 45% of Swiss CEOs are of the opinion that the government is responsible for the fight against climate change and environmental damage, while only a third (34%) see this as a priority for economic players. 

Find out more in our Swiss report. 

Insights from our experts

Download the summary 

In this short overview we’ve summarised the most important findings on the different topics covered in the Swiss edition of the 24th Annual CEO Survey

Download the summary now

Design of the survey

Structure of random sample for Switzerland

The 111 CEOs who took part in the Swiss edition represent 6 companies with revenue of more than CHF 10,000 million, 16 companies with revenue between CHF 1,000 million and CHF 9,999 million, 51 companies with revenue between CHF 101 million and CHF 999 million and 32 companies with revenue of up to CHF 100 million. 22% of the companies are listed on the stock exchange, 66% are privately owned and 12% represent the public sector. 42% of the survey participants represent Swiss family-owned companies, where the family holds at least 32% of the shares.

Das Studiendesign des CEO Survey

Contact us

Andreas Staubli

Andreas Staubli

CEO, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 44 72

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Head of Marketing & Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 1885

Anja Brun

Anja Brun

Head of Integrated Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 1819

Follow us

Skip to content Skip to footer
Recherche
PwC

Résultats de la charge

Édition suisse

de l’étude

«24th Annual CEO

Survey»

111 chefs d'entreprise suisses ont répondu sur la façon dont ils gèrent les effets de la pandémie. Mais aussi sur les opportunités et les risques liés à l'accélération de la transformation numérique.

De CEO à CEO

En période d’incertitude, une seule chose est sûre: le changement. Qu’est-ce que cela implique pour les CEO suisses? Et quelles sont les opportunités qui en découlent? Nous avons regroupé les réponses à ce type de questions dans l’enquête «24th Global Annual CEO Survey 2021» et publié, cette année également, une édition suisse distincte.

Télécharger l'édition suisse maintenant

 

Playback of this video is not currently available

1:41

Vers l'avenir avec optimisme et dynamisme

Andreas Staubli, CEO, PwC Suisse

Nos conclusions résumés

Confiance dans la croissance de leur entreprise 

Les entreprises suisses se montrent confiantes non seulement dans la reprise économique mondiale, mais aussi dans le développement de leur entreprise. Ainsi, 84% sont convaincues que leur chiffre d’affaires augmentera dans les 12 prochains mois, et 93% s’attendent à une croissance de leur chiffre d’affaires au cours des trois prochaines années.

Accélération des processus de transformation 

La pandémie ayant conduit les décideurs à remettre en question leurs principes commerciaux et leur orientation stratégique, la nécessité d’une transformation constante et continue est devenue un nouvel axiome. Parmi les CEO suisses interrogés, 92% envisagent d’augmenter leurs investissements dans la transformation numérique dans les trois prochaines années. En comparaison mondiale, ils sont 83%.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre rapport suisse. 

Vive inquiétude des CEO suisses face aux cybermenaces

Les CEO suisses entrevoient dans les cyberattaques l’une des plus grandes menaces pour la croissance de leur entreprise (43%). Cette inquiétude est particulièrement marquée en comparaison internationale. Alors que 93% des CEO suisses interrogés sont préoccupés par les cybermenaces, ils sont 8% de moins au niveau international.

La réglementation influence la gestion des risques

 84% des CEO suisses couvrent les cybermenaces dans le cadre de leur gestion des risques. Au niveau mondial, ce pourcentage n’est que de 59%. Cela reflète le fait que certains secteurs en Suisse sont fortement réglementés, comme les prestataires de services financiers. Pour ces derniers, les cybermenaces font, aux termes de la loi, partie de la gestion quotidienne des risques.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre rapport suisse. 

La disponibilité des compétences clés reste une préoccupation majeure 

Même le COVID-19 n’a rien pu changer au fait que près de deux tiers des CEO suisses sont toujours préoccupés par la disponibilité des qualifications clés. Cela représente un recul de 5% par rapport à l’an dernier, mais s’explique très probablement par la capacité d’adaptation, l’agilité et la résilience des collaborateurs. 

Le rôle de l’État

79% des participants à l’étude suisse considèrent que des employés compétents, bien formés et flexibles sont l’une des principales conditions préalables à la réussite d’une entreprise. Au niveau mondial, ce pourcentage est de 61%. 79% des CEO suisses estiment cependant que ce sujet relève de la responsabilité du gouvernement. Cela s’explique sans doute aussi par la collaboration étroite entre les secteurs privé et public dans le développement et la production de talents, comme c’est le cas par exemple avec le système d’éducation et de formation dual.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre rapport suisse. 

Malgré une importance croissante, besoin d’agir minime en Suisse 

62% des CEO interrogés en Suisse sont préoccupés par le changement climatique, ce qui représente une hausse de 11% par rapport à l’année précédente. Cependant, seuls 47% des décideurs suisses envisagent d’augmenter leurs investissements à long terme dans la durabilité et dans les initiatives ESG en raison de la crise du COVID-19. Au niveau mondial, ce pourcentage est de 60%. Cela peut indiquer que les entreprises suisses sont actives dans ce domaine depuis quelques années déjà et que le besoin de réaliser des investissements importants est plus faible que dans d’autres pays.

La question de l’instance compétente reste posée 

Dans le même temps, 45% des CEO suisses considèrent que la lutte contre le changement climatique et les dommages environnementaux incombe au gouvernement, alors que seul un bon tiers (34%) estime que c’est une priorité des acteurs économiques eux-mêmes. 

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre rapport suisse. 

Observations de nos experts

Télécharger le résumé 

Dans ce bref aperçu, nous avons résumé de façon succincte les principaux enseignements concernant les différents thèmes de la 24e édition suisse de l’étude «Annual CEO Survey». 

Télécharger le résumé maintenant

Conception de l’étude

Structure de l’échantillon pour la Suisse

Sur les 111 entreprises dont les CEO ont participé à l’enquête suisse, 6 ont un chiffre d’affaires de plus de 10 milliards de francs, 16 ont un chiffre d’affaires compris entre 1'000 millions de francs et 9'999 millions de francs, 51 ont un chiffre d’affaires compris entre 101 et 999 millions de francs et 32 ont un chiffre d’affaires inférieur ou égal à 100 millions de francs. 22% de ces entreprises sont cotées en Bourse, 66% sont en mains privées et 12% relèvent du secteur public. 42% des participants à l’étude représentent des entreprises familiales suisses dont au moins 32% des actions sont détenues par la famille.

Das Studiendesign des CEO Survey

Nous contacter

Andreas Staubli

Andreas Staubli

CEO, PwC Switzerland

Tel : +41 58 792 44 72

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Chief Marketing Officer PwC Switzerland & Digital Marketing Lead PwC Europe, PwC Switzerland

Tel : +41 58 792 1885

Anja Brun

Anja Brun

Head of Integrated Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel : +41 58 792 1819

Follow us