Skip to content Skip to footer
Search
PwC

Menu

Events

Loading Results

Swiss edition:

‘25th Annual Global

CEO Survey‘

From CEO to CEO

When times are uncertain, we managers and decision-makers need to give one thing above everything else – certainty. We must do this with respect to growth, jobs, transformation, cybersecurity and supply chains. And especially with respect to the future. This is no easy task, but it is one that unites us CEOs worldwide. 

We want to help you keep an eye on the big picture and provide you with certainty about sustainable answers – especially at a time when so many questions remain unanswered.

I wish you an inspiring read.

Andreas Staubli
CEO, PwC Switzerland

Download the survey

Our findings summarised

Growth

The CEOs we surveyed in Switzerland in 2020 had high expectations that the global economy would make a comeback. 2021, the second year of the pandemic, has evidently met their expectations. The participants in our new survey are highly optimistic that the global economy and core markets will grow over the next 12 months.


Sustainability

Climate change ranks fifth in the threat barometer, with 85% of the CEOs in our survey mentioning it. They rate the urgency of doing business sustainably – for example, with a net zero promise or through carbon neutrality – as equally high. Swiss and international regulations impose sustainability requirements with varying degrees of severity on most companies – especially in the financial sector and in energy-intensive industries such as steel, cement and manufacturing. Sustainability is no longer just a marketing theme, but a matter of mandatory compliance. The intensity of the regulations will only increase in the next few years. 

 Developing standardised approaches

81% of the CEOs in our survey state that their industries don’t yet have a standardised approach to decarbonisation. Cross-sectoral approaches to decarbonisation are just starting to be established, and uniform standards and frameworks are currently being developed. For these standards and frameworks to be effective, companies need to work with the upstream (suppliers) and downstream (consumers) links in their value chains, communicate interdependencies and jointly define targets. This dialogue is happening, but its progress is slow. 


Strategy

The pandemic has accelerated the industry-specific transformations that we have described above but has not influenced companies’ strategic decisions on how to respond to them. It has magnified the issues – as if with an immense magnifying glass – and forced companies to see their urgency. Issues such as supply chains and warehousing were at the top of the agenda for CEOs and boards in 2020, but the pandemic year of 2021 has brought bigger, transformation issues to the table. These have thrown companies’ entire business models – together with their available resources and their infrastructures – into question. 

‘For years, the strategy discussion was about efficiency and costs. Today, the focus is on major industry transformations and on sustainability as an overarching goal.‘

Andreas Pratz, Partner, Head of PwC Strategy& Switzerland

Cyber

Cybersecurity is the threat that the CEOs in our survey are most worried about – all of them named it – and this is not only because hacking is mentioned so frequently in the media. People have gained a deeper understanding of cyberattacks and their consequences during the last two years. A lot of managers know people from their own professional networks who have been affected. However, most managers still have little idea how to counter the threat or where investments would achieve the fastest and best results. CEOs know how long it can take to close gaps in their companies’ defences that date from the past. 


Supply chain

In the spring of 2020, the pandemic showed internationally networked companies that their supply chains can cause them existential risk. In some sectors, production facilities had to close entirely, and raw materials, semi-finished products and components could not cross borders at all, or were severely delayed, during the lockdowns. Common global supply structures were rendered useless overnight. So companies tried to rid their supply chains of weak points and dependencies – as much as they could – and to purchase and produce more regionally and locally.

 

Container Boxes

Survey participants

This study is based on the ‘25th Annual Global CEO Survey‘ conducted by PwC Global in 2021. The participants were surveyed in November 2021. Around the world a total of 4,446 CEOs were surveyed in 89 countries, including 100 CEOs in Switzerland. Global sampling was weighted according to national GDP to make sure that the views of the CEOs in the important regions of the world are fairly represented. In Switzerland, the participants completed an online questionnaire.

Contact us

Andreas Staubli

Andreas Staubli

CEO, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 44 72

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Chief Marketing Officer PwC Switzerland & Digital Marketing Lead PwC Europe, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 1885

Stéphanie Tobler-Mucznik

Stéphanie Tobler-Mucznik

Manager Integrated Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 18 16

Follow us

Skip to content Skip to footer
Recherche
PwC

Résultats de la charge

Édition suisse:

« 25th Annual Global

CEO Survey »

De CEO à CEO

En tant que responsables et décideurs, notre devoir en ces temps incertains est avant tout de : rassurer. Que ce soit vis-à-vis de la croissance, des emplois, de la trans-formation, de la cybersécurité ou des chaînes d’approvi-sionnement. Et surtout en ce qui concerne l’avenir.  La tâche n’est pas aisée, mais elle nous unit en tant que CEO à travers le monde. 

Dans le « 25th Annual CEO Survey », nous identifions la façon dont nous relevons ce défi. Je vous souhaite une agréable lecture.

Andreas Staubli
CEO, PwC Suisse

Télécharger l'édition suisse

Nos conclusions résumés

Croissance

Les CEO que nous avons interrogés en Suisse en 2020 avaient de grandes attentes quant au retour de l’économie mondiale. 2021, deuxième année de la pandémie, leur a manifestement donné satisfaction.


Développement durable

Cité par 85 % des CEO interrogés, le changement climatique arrive en cinquième position du classement des menaces des entreprises. Ils accordent par conséquent la même importance à l’urgence d’opérer dans un cadre durable, par exemple au travers d’un engagement de zéro émission nette ou par la neutralité carbone. Les réglementations nationales et internationales sont plus ou moins strictes en matière de développement durable envers les entreprises, notamment envers le sec-teur financier et les domaines énergivores, tels que l’acier, le ciment ou la fabrication. Aujourd’hui déjà, le développement durable n’est plus une simple question de marke-ting, mais un impératif auquel il convient de se conformer. Le paysage réglementaire va encore se densifier au cours des prochaines années.   

Vers des approches standardisées

81 % des participants à l’étude indiquent que leur branche ne dispose actuellement d’aucune approche de décarbonation normalisée. Des approches de décarbonation intersectorielles commencent tout juste à se mettre en place et l’élabo-ration de normes et de structures harmonisées est en cours. Pour qu’elles opèrent, les entreprises doivent collaborer avec les différents échelons en amont (fournisseurs) et en aval (consommateurs) de leur chaîne de valeur, communiquer les interdépendances et définir des objectifs communs. Ce dialogue a lieu, mais il n’avance que lentement.


Stratégie

La pandémie a accéléré les transformations sectorielles décrites précédemment, sans pour autant influencer les décisions stratégiques les concernant. Telle une immense loupe, elle a eu un effet grossissant sur certaines thématiques et montré aux entre-prises à quel point il était urgent de les traiter. Si en 2020 les conseils d’administration et les CEO se sont avant tout intéressés à des points tels que la chaîne d’approvision-nement ou le stockage, 2021 a mis les thématiques majeures de la transformation à l’ordre du jour. Elles impliquent de repenser l’ensemble du modèle d’affaires et, partant, toutes les ressources et les infrastructures à disposition. Les décideurs qui ne sont pas capables d’apporter des réponses clairvoyantes condamnent leur entreprise à dispa-raître dans un avenir proche. Il est alors d’autant plus compréhensible que les CEO misent sur leurs propres forces, telles que le capital, les compétences et les relations, pour trouver ces réponses.

Pendant des années, les discussions stratégiques ont porté sur l’efficacité ou les coûts. Il est aujourd’hui avant tout question d’importantes transformations sectorielles et de développement durable vus comme des exigences de premier ordre.

Andreas Pratz, Associé, Head of PwC Strategy& Suisse

La cybersécurité

Le fait que 100 % des CEO citent la cybersécurité dans la liste de leurs préoccupations ne s’explique pas unique-ment par l’omniprésence du hacking dans les médias. Au cours des deux dernières années, ils ont acquis une meilleure connaissance des cyberattaques et de leurs conséquences. De nombreux responsables connaissent des victimes dans leur réseau professionnel. Chez la plu-part d’entre eux domine pourtant une certaine perplexité quant à la façon de faire face à ce danger et quant à la nature des investissements à faire pour agir le plus rapi-dement et le plus efficacement possible. Les CEO savent combien de temps cela peut prendre de combler les failles du passé.


Les chaînes d’approvisionnement

Au printemps 2020, la pandémie a tout particulièrement montré aux entreprises intégrées dans les réseaux internationaux que leur chaîne d’approvisionnement pouvait menacer leur pérennité. Dans certains secteurs, des unités de production ont dû entièrement fermer et les matières premières, les produits semi-finis ou les composants étaient bloqués ou fortement retardés aux frontières durant les confinements. Quasiment du jour au lendemain, il est devenu impossible de s’appuyer sur les structures d’approvisionnement mondiales habituelles. Les entreprises ont alors tenté de remédier, du moins en partie, aux faiblesses et aux dépendances de leurs chaînes d’approvisionnement en achetant et en produi-sant à une échelle régionale ou locale.

 

Container Boxes

Participants à l’étude

La présente étude se base sur le « 25th Annual Global CEO Survey 2021 » de PwC Global et a été menée en novembre 2021. Au total, 4446 CEO ont été interrogés dans 89 pays, dont 100 en Suisse. L’échantillon mondial a été pondéré en fonction des PIB nationaux. Cela permet une représentation équitable des opinions des CEO des principales régions du monde. En Suisse, toutes les questions et réponses ont été soumises par écrit au moyen d’un questionnaire en ligne.

Nous contacter

Andreas Staubli

Andreas Staubli

CEO, PwC Switzerland

Tel : +41 58 792 44 72

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Chief Marketing Officer PwC Switzerland & Digital Marketing Lead PwC Europe, PwC Switzerland

Tel : +41 58 792 1885

Stéphanie Tobler-Mucznik

Stéphanie Tobler-Mucznik

Manager Integrated Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel : +41 58 792 18 16

Follow us