Swiss edition of the 23rd Annual CEO Survey

Opinions and outlooks of Swiss decision-makers on the economy


From CEO to CEO

For 23 years, we’ve been analysing what concerns CEOs around the world, what they think about, what they do and how they see the future, and formulating our conclusions in the “Annual CEO Survey” by PwC Global. In this study, we’ve compiled and commented exclusively on the responses of the CEOs from Switzerland. The study focuses on the themes of growth, cyber space, upskilling and climate change.

Explore the key findings

Andreas Staubli, CEO, PwC Schweiz

Key Findings

Growth

Optimism at home, concern for the rest of the world

82% of the CEOs are reasonably or very confident about revenue growth over the next twelve months. This optimistic assessment far exceeds global confidence, which can be attributed to various factors including the context of the Swiss economy.

Well-prepared for a crisis

With 36% of Swiss CEOs over-regulation is the biggest threat to growtb of their company, followed by global trade conflicts (33%) and cyber risks (26%). But 66% of the survey participants consider themselves to be prepared for a crisis and 50% want to expand their workforce over the next 12 months.

sad

How confident are you about your organisation's prospects for revenue growth over the next 12 months?

Sustainable growth should not be an end in itself for companies. At PwC we see it as an essential contribution of value to society, as healthy prosperity can only be maintained and developed in a prospering market economy.

Stefan Räbsamen, Partner, Chairman of the Board of Directors, PwC Switzerland

Cyberspace

Digital security creates analogue trust

50% of the Swiss CEO's think that cyber security and secure digital privacy in the private sphere contribute towards building trust.

Regulation is a hurdle

85% of the surveyed CEOs consider the rising complexity of cyber risks and 66% the legal regulations governing cyber security and data protection as central issues for their cyber strategy. 

How concerned are you regarding the economic environment?

Cybersecurity is an ongoing process. Because the dangers from cyberspace require comprehensive security thinking and measures that include communication channels, applications, and information in equal measure. Accordingly, cybersecurity is not just an IT task today, but a key issue in strategic risk management.

Wolfgang Schurr, Partner, Cybersecurity and Privacy Leader, PwC Switzerland

Upskilling

Brainware before Hardware

22% of the decision-makers in Switzerland see the definition of future roles and required core skills as the most challenging personnel-related task, while 69% are moderately or extremely concerned about the availability of these competences.

Nonetheless, most of the study participants have already started developing an upskilling programme (37%) or are slowly making progress in this area (36%). 

sad

Please rank the three greatest challenges your organisation currently faces in it's upskilling efforts.

The further development of digital skills is just as important as technological progress itself. It’s simpler and cheaper in the long term to grow the required skills internally than it is to buy them. Because most times what’s needed is not available or affordable.

Jose Marques, Partner, People & Organisation, PwC Switzerland

Climate change

Facts mixed with questions

51% of the CEOs surveyed in Switzerland are moderately or extremely concerned about climate change and environmental damage. 

Clearly, the stakeholder groups’ expectations of company climate protection strategy are considered reasonable (74%) – but not lead to significant new product and service opportunities for their organisations (50%).

Sustainability is a highly complex requirement that goes way beyond the climate discussion, because it concerns the entire value creation circle and all the processes that shape market performance, including finance. The view of decision-makers should be just as comprehensive when they define their approach to climate change and assess how sustainable their line of business and their assets are.

Stephan Hirschi, Director, Sustainability and Climate Change, PwC Switzerland

Get the summary

Contact us

Andreas Staubli

CEO, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 44 72

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Head of Marketing & Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 1885

Anja Brun

Head of Integrated Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 1819

Follow us

23e édition suisse de l’étude « Annual CEO Survey »

Opinions et perspectives de décideurs suisses sur l’économie


De CEO à CEO

Depuis 23 ans, l’enquête « Annual CEO Survey » de PwC Global revient sur les préoccupations des CEO du monde entier, leur opinion sur la question, les mesures qu’ils prennent et la manière dont ils envisagent l’avenir. Dans la présente étude, nous avons compilé et commenté exclusivement les réponses des CEO d’entreprises. L’étude se concentre surtout sur les thèmes de la croissance, du cyberespace, de l’upskilling et du changement climatique.

Explorez les principales conclusions

Andreas Staubli, CEO, PwC Suisse

Principales conclusions

Croissance

Optimistes au niveau national, inquiets pour le monde

82% sont assez ou très confiants concernant la croissance du chiffre d'affaires au cours des trois prochaines années. Cette évaluation est bien plus optimiste que l'appréciation mondiale (72%).

Bien positionnés en cas de crise

Interrogés sur les raisons de leurs inquiétudes concernant l’économie mondiale, les CEO citent en premier lieu l’excès de réglementation (36%), les conflits commerciaux mondiaux (33%) et les cyber-risques (26%). Pourtant 65,9 % des participants à l’étude s’estiment bien préparés en cas de crise et 50% veulent accroître leurs effectifs au cours des douze mois à venir.

La croissance ne devrait pas être une fin en soi pour les entreprises. Chez PwC, nous la considérons comme un apport de valeur indispensable à la société. En effet, le maintien et l’accroissement d’une prospérité saine ne peuvent se faire que dans une économie de marché florissante.

Stefan Räbsamen, Partner, Chairman of the Board of Directors, PwC Suisse

Cyberspace

La sécurité numérique instaure la confiance

La cybersécurité et une sphère privée numérique sûre sont jugées importantes pour renforcer la confiance.

La réglementation, un obstacle

La complexité croissante des cyber-risques, d’une part, et les prescriptions du législateur en matière de cybersécurité et de protection des données, d’autre part, sont donc considérées comme essentielles par 85% et 66% des CEO interrogés, respectivement, pour l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de leur cyberstratégie.

La cybersécurité est un processus continu, car les dangers du cyberespace exigent une réflexion et des mesures de sécurité complètes intégrant les canaux de communication, les applications, et les informations dans une égale mesure. La cybersécurité est donc aujourd'hui un enjeu clé de la gestion stratégique des risques, et non plus une tâche informatique.

Urs Küderli, Director Cybersecurity, PwC Switzerland

Upskilling

Le « brainware » prime sur le « hardware »

22% des décideurs en Suisse considèrent que la définition des futurs rôles et des compétences de base requises est la tâche la plus difficile en matière de personnel, tandis que 69% sont modérément ou extrêmement préoccupés par la disponibilité des compétences de base.

Néanmoins, la plupart des participants à l'étude ont déjà commencé à élaborer un programme de perfectionnement (37%) ou progressent lentement dans ce domaine (36%). 

Le perfectionnement des compétences numériques est tout aussi essentiel que le progrès technologique lui-même. Pour y parvenir, il est plus facile et, à long terme, plus avantageux sur le plan économique de développer les compétences requises des effectifs en place que de les acquérir à l’extérieur. En effet, la plupart du temps, ce dont on a besoin n’est pas disponible ou abordable.

Jose Marques, Partner, People & Organisation, PwC Suisse

Changement climatique

Des points d’interrogation

51% des CEO d’entreprises suisses interrogés se montrent assez ou très préoccupés par le changement climatique et les dommages sur l’environnement. 

Les attentes des parties prenantes concernant la stratégie d’entreprise en matière de protection du climat sont clairement considérées comme appropriées (51%) – mais pas sur le potentiel d'opportunités que la réglementation sur le climat pourrait offrir (50%).

 

La durabilité est une exigence fortement interconnectée qui dépasse largement le débat climatique. En effet, elle concerne tout le cycle de création de valeur et tous les processus qui façonnent la performance du marché, y compris la finance. De même, les décideurs devraient avoir une approche holistique quand ils définissent leur attitude en matière de changement climatique et évaluent le niveau de durabilité de leur champ d’activité et de leurs investissements.

Stephan Hirschi, Director, Sustainability and Climate Change, PwC Suisse

Résumé du rapport

Nous contacter

Andreas Staubli

CEO, PwC Switzerland

Tel : +41 58 792 44 72

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Head of Marketing & Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel : +41 58 792 1885

Anja Brun

Head of Integrated Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel : +41 58 792 1819

Follow us