Skip to content Skip to footer
Search
PwC

Menu

Events

Loading Results

Developing a go-to-market strategy for a large pharmaceutical company

Pharma Growth Strategy (Case Study)

E-health, digital therapeutics and personalised therapeutics are just some of the trends shaping the present and future of today’s pharmaceutical industry. More than ever, we see empowered consumers who are self-informed about treatments and more engaged with treatment protocols. As we know, the COVID-19 pandemic has accelerated some of these trends. Pharmaceutical companies are confronted with the challenge of adapting to this new environment and using it as a transformative force for their own benefit. 

Challenge: How to commercialise a new pharmaceutical product in a rapidly changing industry?   

A large pharmaceutical company was aiming to create a new go-to-market approach for an innovative drug across Europe.

The dynamics within which the pharmaceutical industry operates have shifted. Due to this, communications with stakeholders and the traditional sales approach needed an adjustment and, consequently, a new growth-strategy. Focusing on customer growth, we helped our client address the following questions:

  • How should the funding route for the new drug look like given the country-specific payments as well as reimbursement models and non-hospital channels?
  • Which changes are needed to transform the stakeholder engagement setup and process? 
  • How does the organisational and sales structure need to be set up?
  • Which capabilities are required in a post COVID-19 landscape?  

Solution: A hybrid pharma strategy that focuses on agility and customer centricity

  • We analysed the market potential for the new drug and assessed the different country-specific access channels. Supported by insights from payers   who provide reimbursement or funding for the new drug as well as from healthcare professionals who treat patients in different care settings, we then developed a strategic plan on how to best achieve access to the different markets while also optimising cost coverage. 
  • In addition to traditional reimbursement approaches, we searched for alternative funding channels.
  • Our go-to-market proposition included pricing strategies with the goal of determining a reimbursed price that also reflects investor expectations.
  • Within sales, the focus was on key account management and omni-channel commercialisation as part of digital marketing initiatives and a new digital channel strategy. An agile structure   was needed to adapt to a continuously changing environment that is defined through transitions between online, offline and face-to-face touchpoints. 
  • This blueprint included the development of a nimble and dynamic organisational set up with the aim to improve workflows enabling an agile working model. 
  • The plan also focused on the allocation of responsibilities to regional headquarters and country affiliates, but also addressed questions regarding flexible resource allocation, outsourcing and required capabilities.    
  • The latter was of special importance, as the new environment requires special skillsets that many pharma companies have to adopt. These skills allow specialists to perform within a new hybrid business world in which there is substantially less face-to-face interaction. Our strategy emphasised capacity-building and recruitment of new talents.   

"PwC helped us develop our understanding of the labeled indication market in Europe as well as how to optimally access this market and with which organizational setup, manpower and skillset. Their analysis provided us with a clear plan on how to achieve our growth targets."

Client, International pharmaceutical company
Webinar Series Customer Centric Transformation

Webinar Series about Customer Centric Transformations 

Whatever industry you operate in, now’s the time to take bold steps forward to get closer to your customers. 

Our series of webinars is a chance for you to explore the latest trends in customer centric transformation and see how they might help you get closer to your target audience.

Explore our Webinars

Result: A roadmap and the necessary tools for a successful implementation phase

  • Based on our analysis and strategic growth plan, our client was able to gain a clear perspective on the different go-to-market scenarios, investment and skillset requirements and related financial growth projections.
  • These served as a basis for investor approval and paved the way for the implementation phase.
  • The implementation plan enabled the client to efficiently target promising access routes. 
  • Our multi-dimensional approach provided the pharma company with the necessary plan and tools to build up the required resources and capabilities.
  • The developed strategy allowed the company to use the ongoing pharma transformation as an opportunity to become more agile and to create an integrated and cohesive customer experience that takes advantage of omni-channel, traditional marketing, and sales elements. 
  • The go-to-market strategy allows the company to optimise and transform its commercialisation process and as a result making it more cost-effective, faster and profitable. 

Contact us

https://pages.pwc.ch/core-contact-page?form_id=7014L0000002qu3QAA&embed=true&lang=en

Contact us

Tareck Raafat

Tareck Raafat

Partner Life Sciences Consulting and Customer Transformation, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 55 63

Skip to content Skip to footer
Recherche
PwC

Résultats de la charge

Élaborer une stratégie de mise sur le marché pour une grande société pharmaceutique

Stratégie de croissance de l'industrie pharmaceutique (étude de cas)

La santé électronique, les thérapies numériques et les soins personnalisés ne sont que quelques-unes des tendances qui façonnent le secteur pharmaceutique d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Les consommateurs prennent les choses en main. Ils se renseignent par eux-mêmes sur les traitements et s’impliquent davantage dans les protocoles de soins. Certaines de ces tendances ont bien évidemment été accélérées par la pandémie de COVID-19. Pour les sociétés pharmaceutiques, le défi consiste à s’adapter à cette nouvelle donne et à en faire une véritable force de transformation. 

Défi : Comment commercialiser un nouveau produit pharmaceutique dans un secteur qui évolue rapidement ?

Une grande société pharmaceutique souhaitait créer une nouvelle approche de mise sur le marché pour un médicament novateur destiné à l’Europe.

La dynamique du secteur pharmaceutique a changé. Il fallait donc faire évoluer la communication avec les parties prenantes et l’approche commerciale traditionnelle et, par conséquent, concevoir une nouvelle stratégie de croissance. En mettant l’accent sur le développement de la clientèle, nous avons aidé notre client à répondre aux questions suivantes :

  • Quelle forme le mécanisme de financement d’un nouveau médicament devrait-il prendre, compte tenu des modèles de paiement et de remboursement de chaque pays et des canaux non hospitaliers ?
  • Quels changements faut-il apporter pour transformer profondément l’engagement des parties prenantes ?
  • Comment faut-il organiser la structure organisationnelle et commerciale ?
  • Quelles sont les capacités nécessaires dans un contexte post-COVID-19 ?

Solution : Une stratégie pharmaceutique hybride axée sur l’agilité et orientée client

  • Nous avons analysé le potentiel commercial du nouveau médicament et examiné les diverses possibilités d’accès au marché dans les différents pays. Grâce aux informations recueillies auprès des organismes payeurs, qui remboursent ou financent le nouveau médicament, et d’autres professionnels de la santé, qui traitent les patients dans différents contextes, nous avons élaboré un plan stratégique pour un accès optimal aux divers marchés et une couverture des coûts optimisée.
  • Nous ne nous sommes pas limités aux approches traditionnelles en matière de remboursement et avons également envisagé de nouveaux canaux de financement.
  • Notre proposition de mise sur le marché intégrait des stratégies de tarification destinées à fixer un prix remboursé reflétant les attentes de l’investisseur.
  • Sur le plan des ventes, l’accent a été mis sur la gestion des grands comptes et la commercialisation omnicanal au titre d’initiatives de marketing numérique, ainsi que sur une nouvelle stratégie pour le canal numérique. Il fallait une structure agile pour pouvoir s’adapter à un environnement en constante évolution, défini par des transitions entre les interfaces en ligne, hors ligne et en personne.
  • Ce schéma directeur comprenait la conception d’une structure organisationnelle souple et dynamique visant à améliorer les workflows pour un modèle de travail agile.
  • Le plan mettait également l’accent sur la répartition des responsabilités entre des sièges régionaux et des sociétés affiliées nationales et abordait les questions de l’affectation flexible des ressources, de l’externalisation et des capacités nécessaires.
  • Ce dernier aspect était particulièrement important, puisque le nouvel environnement exige des compétences spécifiques que beaucoup d’entreprises pharmaceutiques doivent acquérir. Ces compétences permettent aux experts d’être performants dans un contexte professionnel hybride, où les interactions en personne sont bien moins nombreuses. Notre stratégie insistait sur le renforcement des capacités et le recrutement de nouveaux talents. 

« PwC nous a permis de mieux appréhender le marché européen des indications thérapeutiques approuvées et de déterminer le meilleur moyen d’y accéder, avec quelle structure organisationnelle, quels effectifs et quelles compétences. Son analyse a débouché sur un plan clairement défini permettant d’atteindre nos objectifs de croissance. »

Client, entreprise pharmaceutique internationale
Webinar Series Customer Centric Transformation

Webinar Series about Customer Centric Transformations 

Whatever industry you operate in, now’s the time to take bold steps forward to get closer to your customers. 

Our series of webinars is a chance for you to explore the latest trends in customer centric transformation and see how they might help you get closer to your target audience.

Explore our Webinars

Résultats : Une feuille de route et les outils nécessaires pour une phase de mise en œuvre réussie

  • Grâce à notre analyse et à notre plan de croissance stratégique, notre client a pu avoir une vision claire des différents scénarios d’accès au marché, des besoins en termes d’investissement et de compétences, ainsi que des projections de croissance financière connexes. 
  • Autant de données qui ont emporté l’approbation des investisseurs et ouvert la voie à la phase de mise en œuvre.
  • Le plan de mise en œuvre a permis au client de cibler efficacement les voies d’accès prometteuses.
  • Notre approche multidimensionnelle a doté l’entreprise pharmaceutique du plan et des outils nécessaires pour acquérir les ressources et les capacités requises.
  • La stratégie élaborée lui a permis d’utiliser la mutation sectorielle en cours pour gagner en agilité et créer une expérience client uniforme, qui profite de l’omnicanal, du marketing traditionnel et des éléments de vente.
  • La stratégie de mise sur le marché permet à l’entreprise d’optimiser et de faire évoluer son processus de commercialisation pour le rendre plus économique, rapide et rentable.

Grâce à PwC, la société est désormais à même de renforcer l’orientation client et d’ouvrir la voie au lancement de son nouveau médicament novateur sur le marché européen. 

Nous contacter

https://pages.pwc.ch/core-contact-page?form_id=7014L0000002qu3QAA&embed=true&lang=fr

Nous contacter

Tareck Raafat

Tareck Raafat

Partner Life Sciences Consulting and Customer Centric Transformation, PwC Switzerland

Tel : +41 58 792 55 63