Disclose 30

Das Onlinemagazin von PwC

In the spotlight: trust in the digital era

Issue 2, 2019

«For it is mutual trust, even more than mutual interest, that holds human associations together.»

I think this quote from the satirist H.L. Mencken makes a great introduction to the theme of this issue of Disclose: trust in the digital era.

The notion of trust is sometimes defined in terms of a willingness to show vulnerability. For there to be trust you need to have faith that the other person isn’t completely selfish, the feeling that you can rely on promises, and the hope that one day trust will pay off.

Vulnerability, faith, feelings and hope aren’t necessarily the kind of words that spring to mind in a world of hard facts and data-driven decisions. But once you recognise that there’s no such thing as 100% security, either in the bunker or in cyberspace, you realise that the trust of investors, customers, network partners, employees and members of the public is just as crucial to business as figures and data. It all boils down to the way we deal with our vulnerability.

In this issue of Disclose we look at this topic from different angles. We investigate the way new technologies are for the first time enabling ways of monitoring processes and risks more efficiently, while at the same time creating potential threats that are hard to assess. We examine the question of whether and how you can trust the figures and predictions made by hardware and software in your daily business. Blockchain, for example, is a groundbreaking digital innovation that requires a whole new way of looking at trust. For Liechtenstein the word ‘trust’ has a double meaning: a specific fiduciary arrangement governed by contract law, and the principle of holding in trust that underlies a long tradition of looking after people’s wealth. In this issue you’ll also find out what you can do to combat economic criminals who have found so many clever ways of abusing trust, mostly in the gloomy depths of the virtual world. Finally, we look at the key importance of trust in family businesses and how it serves as the foundation on which owners and family members base their loyalties and decisions.

As usual, our Update articles bring you up to speed on a variety of audit and assurance related topics. We take a particularly close look at the amended legislation on withholding tax (income tax paid at source) and the latest developments in VAT legislation.

I hope and trust that you’ll enjoy reading this issue of Disclose.

Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi, Member of the Management Board, Leader Assurance PwC Switzerland

Alex Astolfi
Member of the Management Board,
Leader Assurance PwC Switzerland

 

Spotlight

In our Focus pieces we look at the issue "Trust in the digital era" from different standpoints and perspectives.

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}


Update

These expert articles are designed to give you a clear picture of the latest relevant developments in financial reporting, tax and new technologies, but also of business processes optimisations.

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}

Subscribe to Disclose

As a Disclose subscriber you receive a link by email as soon as the next issue is released.

Catch up on Disclose

Looking for an earlier issue or a specific topic?
Have a look at our archive.

Disclose 30

Das Onlinemagazin von PwC

Gros plan sur : la confiance à l’ère numérique

Édition 2, 2019

« Il est difficile de croire qu'un homme dit la vérité quand vous savez que vous mentiriez si vous étiez à sa place. »

Cette citation de l’auteur satirique Henry Louis Mencken illustre parfaitement le thème central que nous souhaitons traiter dans cette édition : la confiance à l’ère numérique.

La science définit la confiance comme une « disposition à se montrer vulnérable ». À cet effet, trois éléments prévalent : la conviction que l’autre n’est pas un égoïste ; le sentiment que l’autre tiendra ses promesses ; l’espoir que la confiance se révélera payante un jour.

La vulnérabilité, la conviction, le sentiment, l’espoir : ce vocabulaire ne convient pourtant pas à un monde érigé sur des faits bruts où les décisions sont prises sur la base de données. Mais nous savons que la sécurité absolue n’existe pas, peu importe que nous nous protégions au fond d’un bunker ou que nous évoluions dans le cyberespace. La confiance témoignée par les investisseurs, les clients, les partenaires du réseau, les collaborateurs et le public influence l’économie au même titre que les chiffres et les données. Il s’agit donc de savoir comment gérer notre vulnérabilité.

Dans cette édition de Disclose, nous analyserons ce sujet sous différents angles. Nous vous montrons dans quelle mesure les technologies de pointe offrent de nouvelles possibilités pour améliorer l’efficacité de la surveillance des processus et des risques. En contrepartie, elles peuvent aussi engendrer une exposition au risque difficilement appréciable. Puis, nous nous interrogerons si et dans quelle mesure vous pouvez faire confiance aux chiffres et aux prévisions du matériel informatique et des logiciels dans le traitement de vos affaires courantes. Considérée comme une innovation numérique révolutionnaire, la blockchain exige par exemple de repenser intégralement notre définition de la confiance. Pour la Principauté du Liechtenstein, le terme anglais « trust » a une double signification : il désigne d’une part une longue tradition en matière d’opérations fiduciaires et d’autre part la fiducie du Liechtenstein en tant que forme juridique relevant du droit des sociétés. Par ailleurs, vous allez découvrir comment lutter contre la criminalité économique qui sait abuser intelligemment de la confiance d’autrui, la plupart du temps à couvert du monde virtuel. Pour finir, la confiance occupe une place centrale au sein des entreprises familiales. Elle est la fondation sur laquelle les propriétaires et la famille bâtissent leurs relations et assoient leurs décisions.

Dans les mises à jour des contributions, nous actualisons vos connaissances dans des thèmes concernant l’audit. Nous nous concentrons sur la révision de l’impôt à la source et sur les dernières évolutions en matière de législation sur la taxe de la valeur ajoutée.

Cette lecture va vous plaire ! Faites-moi confiance, je ne suis pas un égoïste.

Votre Alex Astolfi

 

Alex Astolfi, Member of the Management Board, Leader Assurance PwC Switzerland

Alex Astolfi
Membre de la direction, responsable Audit,
PwC Suisse

 

Gros plan

Nos articles Gros plan présentent différents points de vue et perspectives sur « La confiance à l’ère numérique ».

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}

{{contentList.loadingText}}

Update

Avec ces articles spécialisés, nous vous tenons informés des derniers développements du droit fiscal et du droit comptable, ainsi que de nouvelles technologies.

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}

{{contentList.loadingText}}

S’abonner à Disclose

Les personnes abonnées reçoivent un lien par e-mail dès que le dernier numéro est mis en ligne.

https://pages.pwc.ch/core-interest-page?interest_id=7014I0000006p1UQAQ&lang=fr&embed=true

Consulter des anciens numéros

Vous recherchez un ancien numéro ou un thème particulier?
Consultez nos archives.