Global Top 100 Companies: for US tech giants, the sky is the limit

Peter Kasahara Managing Partner Digital Intelligence and Customer Centric Transformation, PwC Switzerland 28 May 2021

What does it take to be a top 100 company? A market capitalisation of at least $128bn, 62% more than last year. For the first time, a company surpassed the valuation of $2 trillion. Our report «Global Top 100 companies 2021» lists the global ranking of the top 100 public companies by market capitalisation and shows how regional and industry dynamics are changing. One thing is clear: tech is the undisputed king.

Since the pandemic-induced declines seen in early 2020, global equity markets have not only recovered but have surged to record highs – supported by government and central bank policies designed to mitigate the economic and social havoc caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Valuations increasing across the board

PwC’s report «Global Top 100 companies 2021» lists the largest public companies by their market capitalisation in dollars as at 31 March 2021 and compares their ranking with the previous year. The market capitalisation of the Global Top 100 companies amounts to a record-breaking $31.7 trillion. This value increased by an impressive $10.3 trillion or 48% since last year, but still underperformed the MSCI World Index, which gained 58% in the same period.

Looking back two years, the total market capitalisation of the Global Top 100 companies has increased by 51%, compared to a performance of the MSCI World Index of 33%. A total of 99 companies in the Global Top 100 saw gains in their market valuations in the year to March 2021. Seven of the top ten companies are based in the US, and technology remains the undisputed king.

7 tech giants amongst the Top 10

The five US tech giants – Apple, Microsoft, Amazon, Alphabet and Facebook – are in a league of their own. Their dominance is broken only by Saudi Aramco, which takes second place after its IPO in December 2019 had catapulted the company directly to the top of last year’s ranking. Besides Saudi Aramco, only two non-US companies made it into the top ten – the Chinese internet leaders Tencent and Alibaba.

Apple resumed its position as the world’s most valuable company with a staggering market capitalisation of $2.05 trillion, a year-on-year increase of $938bn or 84%, thus surpassing the $2 trillion mark. Saudi Aramco follows with a capitalisation of $1.92 trillion; Microsoft, Amazon and Alphabet are valued at more than $1 trillion each. Berkshire Hathaway, in tenth place, has a capitalisation of $588bn, which would have secured the company the top position in 2014. Tesla was the clear outperformer among the top 100 with an astonishing 565% increase in its market capitalisation, from $96bn in March 2020 (83rd) to $641bn in March 2021 (8th).

«During the pandemic the importance of digital transformation became even more apparent, which is reflected by the "Global Top 100" ranking. Large companies in particular, as well as those that are agile by nature such as technology companies, grew strongly despite COVID-19. Among others, they were able to benefit from new technologies and many years of continuous investment in their digital transformation.»

Peter Kasahara Managing Partner Digital Intelligence and Customer Centric Transformation, PwC Switzerland

All sectors ahead

All sectors represented in the top 100 saw massive year-on-year gains in market capitalisation – ranging from 25% (healthcare) to 75% (basic materials). Technology continues to be the largest sector in terms of capitalisation ($10.5tn) for the sixth year in a row, and Global Top 100 technology companies experienced a 71% increase in valuation compared to March 2020.

Cyclicals, industrials and basic materials outperformed other sectors, while the worst performing sectors were healthcare, energy and utilities. Basic materials and utilities are the least significant sectors among the Global Top 100 companies, with capitalisations of $309bn and $148bn respectively.

Winners and losers – and Switzerland

With 59 companies in the Global Top 100, US companies now represent 65% of the combined valuation, up from 61% one year ago. The 73 companies represented by the US and China together – China being the second most important country with 14 companies – account for 77% of the total market capitalisation of all Global Top 100 companies.

Further down the ranking, the United Kingdom saw the largest net decrease in the number of companies in the Global Top 100, resulting in the country falling from 5th to 10th position. While BHP Billiton, Boeing, Siemens, Softbank and Volkswagen returned to the top 100 list, some of the 12 companies that departed were HSBC, China Life, BP and IBM. Among the eight new entrants are Sony, Starbucks and T-Mobile.

Three Swiss heavyweights can be found in the Global Top 100. In 2020, all of them were in the top 25. This year, Nestlé holds 26th place, while Roche (29th) and Novartis (46th) fell behind. However, in terms of their combined market capitalisation the picture remains impressive: Switzerland takes fourth place after the US, China and Saudi Arabia.

Explore the Global Top 100 companies by region:

Global Top 100 companies: explore the data
close

Greater China

$21,075m

Market Cap (31 March 2021)

Alibaba Group Holding-Sp ADR

7

Rank

$471.7m

Market Cap
(31 March 2021)

1.7%

% Change Mkt
Cap (19-18)

Tencent Holdings Ltd

7

Rank

$471.7m

Market Cap
(31 March 2021)

1.7%

% Change Mkt
Cap (19-18)

Ind & Comm Bk of China-A

7

Rank

$471.7m

Market Cap
(31 March 2021)

1.7%

% Change Mkt
Cap (19-18)
Source: Bloomberg and PwC analysis

Spotlight on unicorns

Unicorns – privately held start-up companies valued at over $1bn – are typically disruptors that take advantage of new technologies and tap into changing consumer trends. COVID-19 appears to have accelerated these secular shifts, which bodes well for unicorns. Similar to the Global Top 100, the US dominates the top 100 unicorns, representing approximately half of the list in terms of the number of companies and value. China provides an additional 23 of the top 100 unicorns, down from 26 in 2020, and accounts for 35% of the total top 100 unicorns in terms of value.

The Chinese internet company ByteDance (the parent company of TikTok) maintains its position as the most valuable unicorn with a valuation of $140bn, an 87% increase from March 2020. ByteDance would be positioned alongside Siemens and Bank of China (90th and 91st place respectively) in the Global Top 100 if it were a public company. No other unicorn meets the $128bn capitalisation required to make it onto the top 100 list.

«Loose monetary policy has provided inexpensive and abundant liquidity, which supports growth investing. This clearly plays to the benefit of unicorns.»

Peter Kasahara Managing Partner Digital Intelligence and Customer Centric Transformation, PwC Switzerland

Key findings

  • Switzerland takes the impressive fourth place after the US, China, and Saudi Arabia in terms of the combined market capitalization of companies in the Global Top 100
  • $31.7 trillion in combined market capitalisation of the Global Top 100 companies (March 2021), which is an increase of $10.3 trillion or 48% on March 2020
  • 99 out of 100 companies saw gains in market valuation
  • 59 out of the Global Top 100 companies are from the US
  • 7 out of the top ten companies are from the US
  • For the first time, a company surpassed a valuation of $2 trillion (Apple)
  • Saudi Aramco spoils the US tech party with its second place
  • The technology sector dominates; healthcare, energy, and utilities lag behind
  • China is the second largest country represented with 14 companies
  • 13 new entrants, including 6 from the US
  • 3 Swiss companies in the top 50
  • European companies lag behind their peers from the US, China and the rest of the world in terms of increases in capitalisation
  • Unicorns took advantage of the accelerated digital transformation

 

Contact us

Peter Kasahara

Peter Kasahara

Managing Partner Digital Intelligence and Customer Centric Transformation, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 42 15

Skip to content Skip to footer
Suche

Ergebnisse laden

Global Top 100 Companies: Tech-Riesen sind offenbar keine Grenzen gesetzt

28 Mai 2021

Was braucht es, um als Unternehmen zu den Top 100 zu zählen? Eine Marktkapitalisierung von mindestens 128 Milliarden USD, d. h. 62 Prozent mehr als im vergangenen Jahr. Erstmals in der Geschichte der Märkte überstieg ein Unternehmen den Marktwert von 2 Billionen USD. Unser Bericht «Global Top 100 companies 2021» beinhaltet eine Rangliste der 100 wertvollsten börsennotierten Unternehmen weltweit, gemessen an ihrer Marktkapitalisierung, und gibt Aufschluss darüber, wie sich die regionale und branchenspezifische Dynamik ändert. Eines ist offensichtlich: Tech ist König.

Seit den pandemiebedingten Einbrüchen Anfang 2020 haben sich die globalen Aktienmärkte nicht nur erholt, sie sind sogar auf Rekordstände gestiegen. Unterstützt wurden sie dabei von der Fiskal- und Geldpolitik der Regierungen bzw. Zentralbanken, die darauf abzielen, die durch die COVID-19-Pandemie verursachten wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Schäden zu mindern.

Bewertungen steigen übergreifend

Der PwC-Bericht «Global Top 100 companies 2021» beinhaltet mit Stand vom 31. März 2021 eine Rangliste der 100 wertvollsten börsennotierten Unternehmen weltweit, gemessen an ihrer Marktkapitalisierung, und vergleicht ihr Ranking mit dem des Vorjahres. Die Marktkapitalisierung der globalen Top-100-Unternehmen beläuft sich mittlerweile auf rekordhohe 31,7 Billionen USD. Dieser Wert stieg seit dem vergangenen Jahr um beeindruckende 10,3 Billionen USD bzw. 48 Prozent, was jedoch immer noch hinter dem MSCI World Index liegt, der im gleichen Zeitraum 58 Prozent hinzugewann.

Ein Blick auf die vergangenen zwei Jahre zeigt, dass die gesamte Marktkapitalisierung der 100 wertvollsten Unternehmen weltweit um 51 Prozent gestiegen ist, verglichen mit einer Performance des MSCI World Index von 33 Prozent. Während des Jahres 2020 bis März 2021 verbuchten 99 Unternehmen unter den Global Top 100 einen Anstieg ihrer Marktbewertung, und sieben der zehn grössten sind US-Unternehmen, wobei Technologieunternehmen weiterhin unangefochten an der Spitze stehen.

7 Tech-Riesen unter den Top 10

Die fünf US-Technologieriesen – Apple, Microsoft, Amazon, Alphabet und Facebook – sind eine Liga für sich. Ihre Dominanz wird lediglich von Saudi Aramco gestört, das an zweiter Stelle rangiert, nachdem der Börsengang im Dezember 2019 das Unternehmen im letzten Jahr direkt an die Spitze des Rankings gespült hatte. Neben Saudi Aramco schafften es nur zwei nicht aus den USA stammenden Unternehmen unter die Top 10: die chinesischen Internetgiganten Tencent und Alibaba.

Apple konnte die Position als wertvollstes Unternehmen der Welt mit einer überwältigenden Marktkapitalisierung von 2,05 Billionen USD wieder einnehmen, nachdem es einen Anstieg von 938 Milliarden USD bzw. 84 Prozent in seinem Marktwert verzeichnete und damit die 2-Billionen-Dollar-Marke knackte. Darauf folgt Saudi Aramco mit einer Marktkapitalisierung von 1,92 Billionen USD. Amazon und Alphabet werden jeweils mit mehr als 1 Billion USD bewertet. Das auf Platz 10 rangierende Unternehmen Berkshire Hathaway weist einen Marktwert von 588 Milliarden USD auf, was ihm 2014 den Spitzenplatz beschert hätte. Mit einem erstaunlichen Anstieg seiner Marktkapitalisierung um 565 Prozent von 96 Milliarden USD im März 2020 (Platz 83) auf 641 Milliarden USD im März 2021 (Platz 8) war Tesla unter den Top 100 der eindeutige Outperformer.

«In der Pandemie wurde die Bedeutung der digitalen Transformation noch offensichtlicher, was sich auch im Ranking der «Global Top 100» widerspiegelt. Insbesondere grosse Unternehmen und diejenigen mit Flexibilität, beispielsweise Technologieunternehmen, konnten trotz COVID-19 ein starkes Wachstum erzielen. Unter anderem profitierten sie von neuen Technologien und jahrelangen beständigen Investitionen in die eigene digitale Transformation.»

Peter Kasahara Managing Partner Digital Intelligence and Customer Centric Transformation, PwC Switzerland

Wachstum in allen Sektoren

Alle in den Top 100 vertretenen Sektoren verzeichneten gegenüber dem Vorjahr massive Zuwächse bei der Marktkapitalisierung: von 25 Prozent (Gesundheitswesen) bis zu 75 Prozent (Rohstoffe). Der Technologiesektor bleibt (das sechste Jahr in Folge) der grösste Sektor in Bezug auf die Marktkapitalisierung (10,5 Billionen USD), und die Bewertung der weltweit wertvollsten Technologieunternehmen unter den Top 100 ist im Vergleich zum März 2020 um 71 Prozent angestiegen.

Gewinner und Verlierer – und die Schweiz

Mit 59 Unternehmen unter den 100 wertvollsten weltweit machen US-Firmen mittlerweile 65 Prozent der kombinierten Bewertung aus, im Vergleich zu 61 Prozent vor noch einem Jahr. Die 73 Unternehmen, welche die USA und China zusammengenommen repräsentieren (China ist mit 14 Unternehmen das zweitwichtigste Land) machen 77 Prozent der gesamten Marktkapitalisierung unter den 100 wertvollsten Unternehmen weltweit aus.

Weiter unten in der Rangliste verzeichnete Grossbritannien den grössten Nettorückgang bei der Anzahl der Unternehmen in den Global Top 100, was dazu führte, dass das Land von Platz 5 auf Platz 10 rutschte. Während BHP Billiton, Boeing, Siemens, Softbank und Volkswagen in die Liste der 100 wertvollsten Unternehmen zurückkehrten, zählen zu den zwölf Unternehmen, die aus der Liste verdrängt wurden, HSBC, China Life, BP und IBM. Zu den acht Neuzugängen gehören Sony, Starbucks und T-Mobile.

Unter den Global Top 100 sind drei Schweizer Schwergewichte vorzufinden. Im Jahr 2020 waren alle drei unter den Top 25; in diesem Jahr liegt Nestlé auf Platz 26, während Roche (29) und Novartis (46) noch weiter zurückgefallen sind. Im Hinblick auf ihre kombinierte Marktkapitalisierung nimmt die Schweiz aber weiterhin einen beeindruckenden Ranglistenplatz ein: Das Land rangiert hinter den USA, China und Saudi-Arabien an vierter Stelle.

Entdecken Sie die Global Top 100 Unternehmen nach Region:

Global Top 100 companies: explore the data
close

Greater China

$21,075m

Market Cap (31 March 2021)

Alibaba Group Holding-Sp ADR

7

Rank

$471.7m

Market Cap
(31 March 2021)

1.7%

% Change Mkt
Cap (19-18)

Tencent Holdings Ltd

7

Rank

$471.7m

Market Cap
(31 March 2021)

1.7%

% Change Mkt
Cap (19-18)

Ind & Comm Bk of China-A

7

Rank

$471.7m

Market Cap
(31 March 2021)

1.7%

% Change Mkt
Cap (19-18)
Quelle: Bloomberg und PwC Analyse

Im Rampenlicht stehen die «Einhörner»

«Einhörner» – private Start-ups mit einer Bewertung von mehr als 1 Milliarde USD - sind in der Regel disruptive Unternehmen, die sich neue Technologien zunutze machen und von sich ändernden Konsumtrends profitieren. COVID-19 hat diese langfristigen Verlagerungen scheinbar beschleunigt, was für diese Art von Unternehmen Gutes verheisst. Ähnlich den Global Top 100 dominieren auch die USA die wertvollsten 100 Einhörner und machen, gemessen an der Anzahl der Unternehmen und ihrem Wert, in etwa die Hälfte dieser Liste aus. China stellt weitere 23 «Einhörner» unter den 100 wertvollsten Unternehmen dieser Art, gegenüber 26 im Jahr 2020, und hat einen Anteil von 35 Prozent in dieser Gruppe.

Das chinesische Internetunternehmen ByteDance (die Muttergesellschaft von TikTok) behauptet seine Position als wertvollstes Einhorn mit einer Bewertung von 140 Milliarden USD, ein Plus von 87 Prozent gegenüber März 2020. Als börsennotiertes Unternehmen würde ByteDance neben Siemens und Bank of China (Ranglistenplätze 90 und 91) unter den Global Top 100 rangieren. Kein anderes Startup-Unternehmen dieser Grösse weist die erforderlichen 128 Milliarden USD an Kapitalisierung auf, um es unter die Top 100 zu schaffen.

«Die lockere Geldpolitik hat für eine günstige und reichliche Liquidität zugunsten von Wachstumsinvestitionen gesorgt. Eindeutige Nutzniesser davon sind die Einhörner.»

Peter Kasahara Managing Partner Digital Intelligence and Customer Centric Transformation, PwC Switzerland

Schlüsselergebnisse

  • Die Schweiz nimmt nach den USA, China und Saudi-Arabien den beeindruckenden vierten Platz ein, was die kombinierte Marktkapitalisierung der Unternehmen in den Global Top 100 angeht
  • Global Top 100 Unternehmen weisen 31,7 Billionen USD an kombinierter Marktkapitalisierung (Stand: März 2021) auf, was einem Anstieg von 10,3 Billionen USD oder 48 Prozent gegenüber März 2020 entspricht
  • 99 von 100 Unternehmen verzeichneten einen Anstieg in ihrer Marktbewertung
  • 59 der 100 wertvollsten Unternehmen weltweit sind aus den USA
  • Unter den Top 10 der wertvollsten Unternehmen weltweit sind 7 aus den USA
  • Erstmals in der Geschichte der Märkte überstieg ein Unternehmen den Marktwert von 2 Billionen USD (Apple)
  • Saudi Aramco verdirbt mit seinem zweiten Platz die US-Tech-Party
  • Der Technologiesektor dominiert; Gesundheitswesen, Grundversorgung und Energie bleiben zurück
  • Mit 14 Unternehmen ist China das zweitgrösste Land in der Rangliste
  • 13 Neuzugänge in den Global Top 100 Unternehmen, davon 6 aus den USA
  • 3 Schweizer Unternehmen sind unter den Top 50
  • Europäische Unternehmen hinken hinter ihren Pendants aus den USA und China und dem Rest der Welt in Bezug auf das Wachstum ihrer Marktkapitalisierung hinterher
  • Einhörner haben von der beschleunigten digitalen Transformation profitiert

 

Kontaktieren Sie uns