Future of Risk

2020 Global Risk Study

PwC’s 2020 Global Risk Study showed that many companies feel they have blind spots to risk. Just 50% of participants said their company has the right data, today, to anticipate and manage existing and emerging risk. Only 33% said they have the right technology and tools to do so.

The study surfaced a growing necessity for better collaboration between risk functions (risk management, compliance, internal audit and other risk functions). As organisations embrace the fourth industrial revolution (4IR), risk functions need to be active participants, helping to achieve and protect the value envisioned. Risks are becoming increasingly complex and interconnected. Without close risk function collaboration, blind spots to risk will inevitably impact strategic, financial and operational initiatives and affect key stakeholders.

Key findings

Digitalisation Success is Closer than you think

According to PwC’s 2020 Global CEO Study, the majority (54%) of Swiss and global CEOs expect economic growth to slow down over the next twelve months. The need to achieve economies of skill and scale will, therefore, become increasingly important for Internal Audit, as well as risk and compliance functions. Early adopters of digital transformation across all risk functions provide precedents about effectively and efficiently doing more with their current resources. Such opportunities are available to organisations regardless of the stage of their digital transformation. See the following case studies about achieving digital transformation success.

Automation provides Early and Continuous Wins

Many organisations continue to undertake relatively simple, standard tasks manually because they are easy to do. They include, for example, manually matching fields across databases in reviewing financial and operational data. As the economic climate becomes tougher, it is especially important to take a critical look at business processes and controls to identify opportunities for high volume standardisation and automation. The key added benefit is that it frees up highly qualified professionals to undertake more fulfilling tasks that will provide a better return on investment. And it makes employees happy to be relieved of such tasks.

Poor Data Quality is No Excuse

Poor data quality does not provide a “get out of jail card” for avoiding digital transformation in risk assurance. Leading-edge companies take advantage of enhancements in data management tools and implement a culture where everyone is responsible for data quality. This includes using data lakes to bring data from legacy systems together, conduct and data clean-up as well as analysis and hypothesis testing. Their data improvement processes run in parallel with the implementation of other key digital transformation processes.

Digital Transformation Leaders continually update the Activities undertaken in each Line of Defence

Digital transformation impacts the three lines of defence in different ways and makes some tasks potentially redundant. For example, the use of artificial intelligence and blockchain potentially reduces the required level of compliance and Internal Audit procedures in procurement and supply chain management processes. It is therefore important to ensure that the lines of defence are continuously aligned and your risk coverage is optimised – minimising duplications and potential coverage gaps.

Solving the Digital Talent Issue: You don’t have to do it all Yourself

A lack of skills is an important challenge to overcome in most digital transformation programmes. Companies successfully addressing this issue focus on what’s important for achieving their business objectives. They realise that they don’t have to be experts in every part of the programme and bring in experts where they are needed and where they would rather outsource e.g. cybersecurity. This helps them to reach their digital transformation aspirations sooner with enhanced cost-effectiveness.

Become a Trusted Advisor to Your Business Partners

Digital transformation processes, such as automation, change the nature of risk assurance roles from assessor to advisor. Their image doesn’t automatically change. Becoming a trusted advisor to the business requires investing in building relationships with the board, management and auditees. Decision-makers need to know from where to obtain information, as well as who are their trusted advisors within their organisation. This requires proactive management and if needed, interviewing key stakeholders to understand their expectations of a “trusted advisor” as well as opportunities for future interactions.


Articles

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}


Interviews

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}


Podcast

Transforming the Value Proposition of Internal Audit

In this podcast, Lauren Massey and Dhiraj Malhotra join Mike Maali to discuss internal audit’s new value proposition and why now is the right time for internal audit to transform.

Don't wait, act now!

Regardless of how far you are on your way to digital transformation. At every stage of the process, gains and precedents are available to help you get the most out of the digital transformation step by step.

Contact us

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}

{{contentList.dataService.numberHits}} {{contentList.dataService.numberHits == 1 ? 'result' : 'results'}}
{{contentList.loadingText}}

Contact us

Andreas Eschbach

Andreas Eschbach

Partner & Leader Smart Contract Assurance, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 27 84

Richard Thomas

Richard Thomas

Partner and Territory Leader Internal Audit, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 79 816 27 00

Alexandra Burns

Alexandra Burns

Director, Risk, Compliance, Internal Audit, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 46 28

Future of Risk

Global Risk Study 2020

Die Global Risk Study 2020 von PwC zeigt, dass viele Unternehmen denken, dass sie im Risikobereich Schwachstellen haben. Nur 50 Prozent der Teilnehmenden gaben an, dass ihr Unternehmen heute über die richtigen Daten verfügt, um bestehende und neu auftretende Risiken zu antizipieren und zu managen. Nur 33 Prozent gaben an, über die richtige Technologie und die richtigen Tools zu verfügen.

Die Studie zeigte die wachsende Notwendigkeit für eine bessere Zusammenarbeit zwischen verschiedenen Risikofunktionen (Risikomanagement, Compliance, interne Revision und andere Risikofunktionen). Während sich Organisationen der vierten industriellen Revolution (4IR) nähern, müssen Risikofunktionen aktiv dazu beitragen, die angestrebten Werte zu erreichen und zu schützen. Risiken werden immer komplexer und müssen vernetzt betrachtet werden. Ohne eine enge Zusammenarbeit der Risikofunktionen wirken sich Schwachstellen im Risikobereich unweigerlich auf strategische, finanzielle und operative Initiativen und auf wichtige Stakeholder aus.

Key findings

Der Erfolg der Digitalisierung ist näher als Sie denken

Gemäss der Global CEO Study 2020 von PwC erwartet die Mehrheit (54 Prozent) der Schweizer und globalen CEOs, dass sich das Wirtschaftswachstum in den nächsten zwölf Monaten verlangsamen wird. Die Notwendigkeit, Economies of Skill und Scale zu erzielen, wird daher für die Interne Revision sowie für Risiko- und Compliance-Funktionen zunehmend an Bedeutung gewinnen. Eine frühzeitige Anwendung der digitalen Transformation in allen Risikofunktionen bieten Präzedenzfälle dafür, wie sie mit ihren aktuellen Ressourcen effektiv und effizient mehr erreichen können. Solche Möglichkeiten stehen Organisationen unabhängig vom Stadium ihrer digitalen Transformation zur Verfügung. Lesen Sie unsere Interviews und Artikel zum Erfolg der digitalen Transformation.

Automatisierung bietet frühe und kontinuierliche Gewinne

Viele Organisationen führen Standardaufgaben weiterhin manuell durch, da sie einfach zu erledigen sind. Sie umfassen beispielsweise das manuelle Abgleichen von Daten zwischen verschiedenen Datenbanken bei der Überprüfung von Finanz- und Betriebsdaten. Angesichts des sich verschärfenden wirtschaftlichen Klimas ist es besonders wichtig, Geschäftsprozesse und -kontrollen kritisch zu betrachten, um Möglichkeiten für eine Standardisierung und Automatisierung hoher Volumina zu ermitteln. Der entscheidende Vorteil besteht darin, dass hochqualifizierte Fachkräfte für die Umsetzung erfüllender Aufgaben verfügbar werden, die eine bessere Kapitalrendite bieten.  

Schlechte Datenqualität ist keine Entschuldigung

Eine schlechte Datenqualität ist keine Grund, um eine digitale Transformation bei der Risikosicherung zu vermeiden. Führende Unternehmen nutzen Verbesserungen bei Datenmanagement-Tools und implementieren eine Unternehmenskultur, in der alle Mitarbeitenden für die Datenqualität verantwortlich sind. Dies umfasst das Verwenden von Data Lakes, um Daten aus Legacy-Systemen zusammenzuführen, das Durchführen und Bereinigen von Daten sowie das Analysieren und das Testen von Hypothesen. Ihre Datenverbesserungsprozesse laufen parallel zur Implementierung anderer wichtiger digitaler Trans-formationsprozesse.

Anführer der digitalen Transformation aktualisieren die Aktivitäten in jeder Verteidigungslinie (Line of Defence) kontinuierlich

Die digitale Transformation wirkt sich auf unterschiedliche Weise auf die drei Verteidigungslinien von Unternehmen aus und macht einige Aufgaben möglicherweise überflüssig. Beispielsweise reduziert der Einsatz von künstlicher Intelligenz und Blockchain das erforderliche Mass an Compliance und internen Audit-Verfahren in Beschaffungs- und Supply Chain Management-Prozessen. Daher ist es wichtig, sicherzustellen, dass die Verteidigungslinien kontinuierlich ausgerichtet und Ihre Risikodeckung optimiert werden, um Doppelspurigkeit und potenzielle Deckungslücken zu minimieren.

Digitale Talente: Sie müssen nicht alles selbst tun

Ein Mangel an Talenten ist eine wichtige Herausforderung, die im Rahmen der meisten Programme zur digitalen Transformation zu bewältigen ist. Unternehmen, die dieses Problem erfolgreich angehen, konzentrieren sich darauf, was für die Erreichung ihrer Geschäftsziele wichtig ist. Sie erkennen, dass sie nicht in allen Teilen des Programms Experten sein müssen, und ziehen in Bereichen, in denen sie Unterstützung benötigen und eine Auslagerung vorziehen, digitale Experten hinzu. Dies ist beispielsweise im Bereich der Cybersicherheit der Fall und hilft den Unternehmen, ihre Ziele der digitalen Transformation früher und kosteneffizienter zu erreichen.
 

Werden Sie ein vertrauenswürdiger Berater Ihrer Geschäftspartner

Digitale Transformationsprozesse, wie die Automatisierung, verändern die Art der Risikofunktionen, vom Prüfer bis hin zum Berater. Um zu einem vertrauenswürdigen Berater des Unternehmens zu werden, müssen Sie die Beziehungen zum Vorstand, Management und geprüften Stellen ausbauen. Entscheidungsträger müssen wissen, woher sie Informationen erhalten und wer ihre Berater in der eigenen Organisation sind. Dies erfordert ein proaktives Management und bei Bedarf die Befragung wichtiger Stakeholder, um deren Erwartungen an einen „vertrauenswürdigen Berater“ sowie Möglichkeiten für zukünftige Interaktionen zu verstehen.


Artikel

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}


Interviews

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}


Podcast

Transforming the Value Proposition of Internal Audit

In this podcast, Lauren Massey and Dhiraj Malhotra join Mike Maali to discuss internal audit’s new value proposition and why now is the right time for internal audit to transform.

Warten Sie nicht, handeln Sie jetzt!

Unabhängig davon, wie weit Sie auf Ihrem Weg zur digitalen Transformation sind. In jeder Phase des Prozesses stehen Gewinne und Präzedenzfälle zur Verfügung, um auf dem Weg zur digitalen Transformation Schritt für Schritt das Maximum herauszuholen.

Kontaktieren Sie uns

{{filterContent.facetedTitle}}

{{contentList.dataService.numberHits}} {{contentList.dataService.numberHits == 1 ? 'result' : 'results'}}
{{contentList.loadingText}}

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Andreas Eschbach

Andreas Eschbach

Partner & Leader Smart Contract Assurance, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 27 84

Richard Thomas

Richard Thomas

Partner and Territory Leader Internal Audit, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 79 816 27 00

Alexandra Burns

Alexandra Burns

Director, Risk, Compliance, Internal Audit, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 46 28