Skip to content Skip to footer
Search
PwC

Menu

Events

Loading Results

PwC's Global Consumer Insights Pulse Survey 2022

Consumers are defying inflation and entering a new experience dimension

How are consumers making purchases today? What about tomorrow and beyond? And why? «PwC’s Global Consumer Insights Pulse Survey» focuses on these issues. In the latest edition in spring 2022, PwC surveyed 9,069 consumers in 25 countries, of whom 2,157 were in Western Europe (Germany, France, Ireland and Spain). The survey indicates that a company’s commitment to sustainability strengthens brand loyalty. What’s more, private consumption is defying inflation. And with the metaverse, this has entered a new experience dimension.

Key insights

Data protection is the number one trust factor for 57% of study participants in Western Europe.

Despite inflation, over 75% say they will consume the same amount or more. 

One in two people are buying online more since the pandemic. 

ESG is an important decision-making criterion, with 35% citing social issues, 34% corporate governance and just 22% environmental commitment. 

Over the last 12 months, 29% have made a purchase via a virtual reality channel. 


Sustainability and data privacy drive trust in brands 

The protection of personal data was stated as the number one trust factor by 57% of all survey respondents. This figure might be due to increased awareness as a result of the recently publicised cases of misuse. Other decisive factors regarding brand confidence and willingness to recommend to others are environmental, social and governance aspects (ESG). The factors dominating the purchase decision are social (Western Europe: 35%, global: 40%) and governance (Western Europe: 34%, global: 41%), compared with environmental commitment (Western Europe: 22%, global: 30%). What’s more, two-thirds of those surveyed in Western Europe stated that they are prepared to spend more on regional products if this means they can support their local economy. 

For Generation Z and young millennials, ESG factors carry greater weight than for Generation X and Baby Boomers. With Generation Z, a group of consumers has emerged who are open-minded to ESG topics and are forcing suppliers to become more sustainable. 

“Aspects like ‘Fair Trade’, ‘free of child labour’, ‘good working conditions and fair wages’, ‘recycled materials’, ‘organic quality’ and ‘regionally produced’ are becoming more important. Just as important are approaches where companies promise to invest a portion of their profits in good causes.”

Dr. Michael Betz, Senior Manager, Customer Transformation, PwC Switzerland
Lifestyle changes triggered by pandemic 

As a result of the pandemic, consumers have made huge changes to their lifestyles and their buying habits. 50% state that they are already buying more online. Western Europe is still lagging slightly behind the global trend in this respect (63%). In-store shopping is still popular here, with only 33% stating that they purchase from physical stores less often (global: 42%).  

Nevertheless, one-third of survey participants anticipate that they will buy more online in future (global: 50%). This assumption is most prevalent among Generation Z (45%), followed by young millennials and core millennials in Western Europe.  

43% of study participants have switched to doing activities at home in their spare time since the pandemic, and 31% will continue to do so (global: 50% and 41%).  

Metaverse opening up a new experience dimension 

The metaverse – a virtual universe with virtual reality (VR) and shared 3D spaces – is emerging as a new consumer world. 29% of study participants in Western Europe have used a VR channel to make a purchase in the last 12 months. 

6% of VR users said that they have entered a virtual universe in order to watch a concert or visit a retail environment, and a further 6% have bought digital products / non-fungible tokens (NFTs) like avatars, digital art or digital real estate (global: 11% and 10%). 

”The pandemic years have accentuated the increased use of digital channels. Although the metaverse is still in its infancy, suppliers will increasingly need to integrate it into their omnichannel presence. After all, customers expect a seamless experience across all channels.”

Alexander Schultz-Wirth, Partner, Head of Customer Transformation, PwC Switzerland
Inflation is present, but is only slowing consumption in certain areas 

Rising food prices are the most frequently stated problem for 68% of purchases made in-store and for 56% of online purchases. Over 75% of survey respondents in Western Europe assume that they will consume the same or more in most categories over the next six months despite inflation. However, more than a quarter are planning to limit spending in certain areas like luxury goods (37%), dining out (30%), art/culture/sport (27%) and fashion (26%). 

“In the short term, consumer behaviour won’t be too heavily impacted as people built up savings during the pandemic years. But in the medium term, consumption will weaken if wages develop below average compared to inflation”.

Alexander Schultz-Wirth, Partner, Head of Customer Transformation, PwC Switzerland

Contact us

Alexander Schultz-Wirth

Alexander Schultz-Wirth

Partner, Leader Customer Transformation and FS Technology Consulting, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 47 97

Dr. Michael  Betz

Dr. Michael Betz

Senior Manager, Customer Transformation, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 27 20

Skip to content Skip to footer
Suche

Ergebnisse laden

PwC's Global Consumer Insights Pulse Survey 2022

Konsument:innen trotzen der Inflation und betreten neue Erlebnisdimension

Wie kaufen Konsument:innen heute ein? Wie übermorgen? Und warum? Diesen Fragestellungen widmet sich die «PwC’s Global Consumer Insights Pulse Survey». In der neusten Ausgabe von Frühjahr 2022 hat PwC 9069 Konsument:innen in 25 Ländern befragt, davon 2157 in Westeuropa (Deutschland, Frankreich, Irland und Spanien). Die Umfrage zeigt, dass das Nachhaltigkeitsengagement eines Unternehmens die Markentreue stärkt. Noch trotzt der private Konsum der Inflation. Und mit dem Metaversum hat dieser eine neue Erlebnisdimension erreicht. 

Studien-Highlights

Datenschutz gilt für 57% der Studienteilnehmenden in Westeuropa als Vertrauensfaktor Nr. 1. 

Über 75% werden trotz Inflation gleich viel oder mehr konsumieren. 

Jede:r Zweite kauft seit der Pandemie vermehrt online ein.  

ESG ist wichtiges Entscheidungskriterium: für 35% das Soziale, für 34% die Unternehmensführung, und nur für 22% das Umweltengagement. 

29% haben in den letzten 12 Monaten über einen Virtual-Reality-Kanal eingekauft. 

Nachhaltigkeit und Datenschutz steuern das Markenvertrauen 

Den Schutz von Personendaten werten 57% aller Befragten als Vertrauensfaktor Nummer 1. Dieser Wert dürfte in einer erhöhten Sensibilität durch jüngst publizierte Missbrauchsfälle begründet liegen. Ebenfalls entscheidend für das Markenvertrauen und die Weiterempfehlungsbereitschaft sind Umwelt-, Sozial- und Governance-Faktoren (ESG). Bei der Kaufentscheidung dominieren Soziales (Westeuropa: 35%, global: 40%) und Governance (Westeuropa: 34, global: 41%), gegenüber dem Umweltengagement (Westeuropa: 22%, global: 30%). Zudem geben zwei Drittel der befragen Westeuropäer:innen an, dass sie bereit sind, mehr für regionale Produkte auszugeben, wenn sie damit die lokale Wirtschaft unterstützen können. 

Für die Generation Z und junge Millennials haben ESG-Faktoren mehr Gewicht als für die Generation X und die Babyboomer. Mit der Generation Z ist eine Konsumentengruppe hinzugekommen, die ESG-Themen gegenüber aufgeschlossen ist und Anbietende zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit zwingt. 

«Aspekte wie ‹Fair Trade›, ‹frei von Kinderarbeit›, ‹gute Arbeitsbedingungen und faire Löhne›, ‹recycelte Materialien›, ‹Bio-Qualität› oder ‹aus regionaler Produktion› gewinnen an Bedeutung. Ebenso Ansätze, bei denen Unternehmen ihren Konsument:innen versprechen, den Gewinn teilweise in eine gute Sache zu investieren.»

Dr. Michael Betz, Senior Manager, Customer Transformation, PwC Schweiz
Pandemie hat Lebensstil verändert 

Als Folge der Pandemie haben Konsument:innen ihren Lebensstil und ihre Einkaufsgewohnheiten grundlegend geändert. 50% erläutern, dass sie bereits vermehrt online einkaufen. Damit hinkt Westeuropa dem globalen Trend (63%) noch etwas hinterher. Der Gang zum Geschäft ist hier immer noch weit verbreitet, nur 33% geben an, weniger in Geschäften einzukaufen (global: 42%).  

Dennoch: ein Drittel der Studienteilnehmenden erwarten, dass sie in Zukunft mehr online einkaufen werden (global: 50%). Am stärksten ausgeprägt ist diese Einschätzung bei der Generation Z (45%), gefolgt von den jungen Millennials und Kern-Millennials in Westeuropa.  

43% der Studienteilnehmenden haben seit der Pandemie zu häuslichen Freizeitaktivitäten gewechselt und 31% werden das beibehalten (global: 50% und 41%).  

Metaversum eröffnet eine neue Erlebnisdimension 

Das Metaversum – ein virtuelles Universum mit Virtual Reality (VR) und gemeinsam genutzten 3D-Räumen – zeichnet sich als neue Konsumwelt ab. 29% der Studienteilnehmenden in Westeuropa haben in den letzten zwölf Monaten einen VR-Kanal genutzt, um einzukaufen. 

6% der VR-Nutzenden geben an, dass sie einem virtuellen Universum beigetreten sind, um ein Konzert oder eine Einzelhandelsumgebung zu besuchen und weitere 6%, sagen, dass sie digitale Produkte/non-fungible tokens (NFTs) wie beispielsweise Avatars, digitale Kunst oder digitale Immobilien erworben haben (global: 11% und 10%). 

«Die Pandemiejahre haben die vermehrte Nutzung von digitalen Kanälen akzentuiert. Obwohl das Metaversum noch in den Kinderschuhen steckt, werden es Anbietende zunehmend in ihre Omnichannel-Präsenz integrieren müssen. Denn Kund:innen erwarten ein nahtloses Erlebnis über alle Kanäle hinweg.»

Alexander Schultz-Wirth, Partner, Leiter Customer Transformation, PwC Schweiz
Inflation ist präsent, aber nur gezielt konsumhemmend

Steigende Preise für Lebensmittel sind das am häufigsten genannte Problem für 68% beim Einkaufen in den Geschäften und für 56% beim online einkaufen. Über 75% der Befragten in Westeuropa gehen davon aus, dass sie in den meisten Kategorien in den nächsten sechs Monaten trotz Inflation gleich viel oder mehr konsumieren werden. Mehr als ein Viertel plant jedoch, die Ausgaben gezielt einzuschränken, darunter Luxusgüter (37%), Restaurantbesuche (30%), Kunst/Kultur/Sport (27%) sowie Mode (26%).

«Kurzfristig wird sich das Konsumverhalten nicht stark negativ entwickeln, denn in den Pandemiejahren wurden einige Ersparnisse angehäuft. Mittelfristig hingegen wird sich der Konsum abschwächen, wenn sich die Löhne unterdurchschnittlich zur Geldentwertung entwickeln.»

Alexander Schultz-Wirth, Partner, Leiter Customer Transformation, PwC Schweiz

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Alexander Schultz-Wirth

Alexander Schultz-Wirth

Partner, Leader Customer Transformation and FS Technology Consulting, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 47 97

Dr. Michael  Betz

Dr. Michael Betz

Senior Manager, Customer Transformation, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 27 20