Skip to content Skip to footer
Search
PwC

Menu

Events

Loading Results

Developing a go-to-market strategy for a large pharmaceutical company

Pharma Growth Strategy (Case Study)

E-health, digital therapeutics and personalised therapeutics are just some of the trends shaping the present and future of today’s pharmaceutical industry. More than ever, we see empowered consumers who are self-informed about treatments and more engaged with treatment protocols. As we know, the COVID-19 pandemic has accelerated some of these trends. Pharmaceutical companies are confronted with the challenge of adapting to this new environment and using it as a transformative force for their own benefit. 

Challenge: How to commercialise a new pharmaceutical product in a rapidly changing industry?   

A large pharmaceutical company was aiming to create a new go-to-market approach for an innovative drug across Europe.

The dynamics within which the pharmaceutical industry operates have shifted. Due to this, communications with stakeholders and the traditional sales approach needed an adjustment and, consequently, a new growth-strategy. Focusing on customer growth, we helped our client address the following questions:

  • How should the funding route for the new drug look like given the country-specific payments as well as reimbursement models and non-hospital channels?
  • Which changes are needed to transform the stakeholder engagement setup and process? 
  • How does the organisational and sales structure need to be set up?
  • Which capabilities are required in a post COVID-19 landscape?  

Solution: A hybrid pharma strategy that focuses on agility and customer centricity

  • We analysed the market potential for the new drug and assessed the different country-specific access channels. Supported by insights from payers   who provide reimbursement or funding for the new drug as well as from healthcare professionals who treat patients in different care settings, we then developed a strategic plan on how to best achieve access to the different markets while also optimising cost coverage. 
  • In addition to traditional reimbursement approaches, we searched for alternative funding channels.
  • Our go-to-market proposition included pricing strategies with the goal of determining a reimbursed price that also reflects investor expectations.
  • Within sales, the focus was on key account management and omni-channel commercialisation as part of digital marketing initiatives and a new digital channel strategy. An agile structure   was needed to adapt to a continuously changing environment that is defined through transitions between online, offline and face-to-face touchpoints. 
  • This blueprint included the development of a nimble and dynamic organisational set up with the aim to improve workflows enabling an agile working model. 
  • The plan also focused on the allocation of responsibilities to regional headquarters and country affiliates, but also addressed questions regarding flexible resource allocation, outsourcing and required capabilities.    
  • The latter was of special importance, as the new environment requires special skillsets that many pharma companies have to adopt. These skills allow specialists to perform within a new hybrid business world in which there is substantially less face-to-face interaction. Our strategy emphasised capacity-building and recruitment of new talents.   

"PwC helped us develop our understanding of the labeled indication market in Europe as well as how to optimally access this market and with which organizational setup, manpower and skillset. Their analysis provided us with a clear plan on how to achieve our growth targets."

Client, International pharmaceutical company
Webinar Series Customer Centric Transformation

Webinar Series about Customer Centric Transformations 

Whatever industry you operate in, now’s the time to take bold steps forward to get closer to your customers. 

Our series of webinars is a chance for you to explore the latest trends in customer centric transformation and see how they might help you get closer to your target audience.

Explore our Webinars

Result: A roadmap and the necessary tools for a successful implementation phase

  • Based on our analysis and strategic growth plan, our client was able to gain a clear perspective on the different go-to-market scenarios, investment and skillset requirements and related financial growth projections.
  • These served as a basis for investor approval and paved the way for the implementation phase.
  • The implementation plan enabled the client to efficiently target promising access routes. 
  • Our multi-dimensional approach provided the pharma company with the necessary plan and tools to build up the required resources and capabilities.
  • The developed strategy allowed the company to use the ongoing pharma transformation as an opportunity to become more agile and to create an integrated and cohesive customer experience that takes advantage of omni-channel, traditional marketing, and sales elements. 
  • The go-to-market strategy allows the company to optimise and transform its commercialisation process and as a result making it more cost-effective, faster and profitable. 

Contact us

https://pages.pwc.ch/core-contact-page?form_id=7014L0000002qu3QAA&embed=true&lang=en

Contact us

Tareck Raafat

Tareck Raafat

Partner Life Sciences Consulting and Customer Transformation, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 55 63

Entwickeln einer Markteinführungsstrategie für ein grosses Pharmaunternehmen

Pharma-Strategie für Wachstum und Transformation (Fallstudie)

E-Gesundheit sowie digitale und personalisierte Behandlungen gehören zu den Trends, welche die Pharmabranche von heute und morgen prägen. Mehr denn je sehen wir proaktive Konsumenten, die sich selbst über Therapien informieren und sich für Behandlungsprotokolle interessieren. Wie wir wissen, hat die COVID-19-Pandemie einige dieser Trends beschleunigt. Die Pharmaunternehmen stehen vor der grossen Herausforderung, sich an das neue Umfeld anzupassen und diesen Schritt zugleich als transformative Kraft zu ihrem eigenen Vorteil zu nutzen. 

Herausforderung: Wie vermarktet man ein neues Pharmaprodukt am besten in einer sich rasch wandelnden Branche?

Ein Pharmakonzern wollte einen neuen Markteinführungsansatz für ein innovatives Medikament in ganz Europa entwickeln.

Die Dynamik in der Pharmabranche hat sich jedoch geändert. Deshalb mussten auch die Kommunikation mit den Anspruchsgruppen und der traditionelle Vertriebsansatz angepasst werden. Letztlich war eine neue Wachstumsstrategie erforderlich. Wir konzentrierten uns auf das Kundenwachstum und unterstützten unseren Kunden dabei, auf die folgenden Fragen einzugehen:

  • Wie sollte der Finanzierungsweg für das neue Medikament angesichts der länderspezifischen Zahlungs- und Erstattungsmodelle und der Kanäle ausserhalb des Spitalbereichs aussehen?
  • Welche Änderungen sind nötig, um den Aufbau und Prozess der Einbindung von Anspruchsgruppen zu transformieren?
  • Welche Organisations- und Vertriebsstruktur ist einzurichten?
  • Welche Kompetenzen werden in der Welt nach COVID-19 benötigt?
Lösung: Eine hybride Pharmastrategie mit den Schwerpunkten Agilität und Kundenorientierung
  • Wir haben das Marktpotenzial für das neue Medikament analysiert und die verschiedenen länderspezifischen Zugangskanäle bewertet. Zunächst stützten wir uns auf die Erkenntnisse der Kostenträger, die die Kostenerstattung oder Finanzierung für das neue Medikament bereitstellen, sowie der medizinischen Fachkräfte, die Patienten in verschiedenen Pflegeumgebungen behandeln. Auf dieser Grundlage erstellten wir einen strategischen Plan, wie wir die unterschiedlichen Märkte am besten erschliessen und gleichzeitig die Kostendeckung optimieren.
  • Neben den traditionellen Erstattungsansätzen suchten wir auch nach alternativen Finanzierungskanälen.
  • Unser Vorschlag für die Markteinführung beinhaltete Preissetzungsstrategien mit dem Ziel, einen Rückerstattungspreis zu bestimmen, der auch die Erwartungen der Investoren berücksichtigt.
  • Im Vertriebsbereich lag der Schwerpunkt auf dem Key Account Management und der Omnichannel-Vermarktung im Rahmen digitaler Marketinginitiativen und einer neuen Strategie für den Digitalkanal. Zur Anpassung an das sich laufend wandelnde Umfeld, das durch Übergänge zwischen Online-, Offline- und persönlichen Touchpoints geprägt ist, brauchte es eine agile Strategie.
  • Dieser Plan umfasste die Entwicklung einer flexiblen und dynamischen Organisationsstruktur mit dem Ziel, Arbeitsabläufe zu verbessern und ein agiles Arbeitsmodell zu ermöglichen.
  • Ausserdem konzentrierte sich unser Plan darauf, die Verantwortlichkeiten auf die regionalen Hauptsitze und Landesgesellschaften zu verteilen. Zudem wurden Fragen im Hinblick auf die flexible Allokation von Ressourcen, Outsourcing und erforderliche Kompetenzen angesprochen.
  • Letztere waren besonders wichtig, weil das neue Umfeld spezielle Fertigkeiten erfordert, die viele Pharmaunternehmen aufbauen müssen. Sie ermöglichen den Spezialisten, in der neuen hybriden Geschäftswelt, in der es deutlich weniger persönliche Interaktionen gibt, hohe Leistungen zu erzielen. Unsere Strategie betonte den Kompetenzaufbau und die Rekrutierung neuer Talente. 

«PwC hat uns dabei unterstützt, unser Verständnis des europäischen Markts für zugelassene Indikationen zu entwickeln. Zudem hat uns PwC gezeigt, wie wir einen optimalen Zugang zu diesem Markt erhalten und welche Organisationsstrukturen, Arbeitskräfte und Kompetenzprofile dafür erforderlich sind. Die Analyse von PwC führte zu einem klaren Plan, wie wir unsere Wachstumsziele erreichen können.»

Kunde, Internationales Pharmaunternehmen
Webinar Series Customer Centric Transformation

Webinar Series about Customer Centric Transformations 

Whatever industry you operate in, now’s the time to take bold steps forward to get closer to your customers. 

Our series of webinars is a chance for you to explore the latest trends in customer centric transformation and see how they might help you get closer to your target audience.

Explore our Webinars

Ergebnis: Eine Roadmap und die nötigen Tools für eine erfolgreiche Implementierungsphase
  • Aufgrund unserer Analyse und unseres strategischen Wachstumsplans erhielt unser Kunde eine klare Perspektive der verschiedenen Szenarios für Markteinführung, Investitionen und Anforderungen an Kompetenzprofile sowie die damit verbundenen finanziellen Wachstumsprognosen.
  • Sie bildeten die Grundlage für die Zustimmung der Investoren und ebneten den Weg für die Implementierungsphase.
  • Der Umsetzungsplan ermöglichte es dem Kunden, vielversprechende Zugangswege effizient anzuvisieren.
  • Dank unseres mehrdimensionalen Ansatzes erhielt das Pharmaunternehmen den Plan und die Tools, mit denen es die nötigen Ressourcen und Kompetenzen aufbauen kann.
  • Mit der von uns entwickelten Strategie konnte das Unternehmen die aktuelle Transformation der Pharmabranche als Gelegenheit nutzen, um agiler zu werden. Zudem entstand auf diese Weise ein integriertes, geschlossenes Kundenerlebnis, welches die Vorteile von Omnichannel, traditionellem Marketing und Vertriebselementen nutzt.
  • Die Markteinführungsstrategie erlaubt dem Unternehmen, den Vermarktungsprozess zu transformieren und zu optimieren. So wird der Prozess kosteneffizienter, schneller und rentabler.
  • Mit der Unterstützung von PwC kann das Unternehmen nun seine Kundenorientierung verbessern und den Weg für die Einführung des neuen, innovativen Medikaments in Europa ebnen. 

Kontaktieren Sie uns

https://pages.pwc.ch/core-contact-page?form_id=7014L0000002qu3QAA&embed=true&lang=de

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Gopal Krishnamani

Gopal Krishnamani

Director Advisory Consulting, Health Industries, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 79 467 64 94