Swiss edition of the 23rd Annual CEO Survey

Opinions and outlooks of Swiss decision-makers on the economy


From CEO to CEO

For 23 years, we’ve been analysing what concerns CEOs around the world, what they think about, what they do and how they see the future, and formulating our conclusions in the “Annual CEO Survey” by PwC Global. In this study, we’ve compiled and commented exclusively on the responses of the CEOs from Switzerland. The study focuses on the themes of growth, cyber space, upskilling and climate change.

Explore the key findings

Andreas Staubli, CEO, PwC Schweiz

Key Findings

Growth

Optimism at home, concern for the rest of the world

82% of the CEOs are reasonably or very confident about revenue growth over the next twelve months. This optimistic assessment far exceeds global confidence, which can be attributed to various factors including the context of the Swiss economy.

Well-prepared for a crisis

With 36% of Swiss CEOs over-regulation is the biggest threat to growtb of their company, followed by global trade conflicts (33%) and cyber risks (26%). But 66% of the survey participants consider themselves to be prepared for a crisis and 50% want to expand their workforce over the next 12 months.

sad

How confident are you about your organisation's prospects for revenue growth over the next 12 months?

Sustainable growth should not be an end in itself for companies. At PwC we see it as an essential contribution of value to society, as healthy prosperity can only be maintained and developed in a prospering market economy.

Stefan Räbsamen, Partner, Chairman of the Board of Directors, PwC Switzerland

Cyberspace

Digital security creates analogue trust

50% of the Swiss CEO's think that cyber security and secure digital privacy in the private sphere contribute towards building trust.

Regulation is a hurdle

85% of the surveyed CEOs consider the rising complexity of cyber risks and 66% the legal regulations governing cyber security and data protection as central issues for their cyber strategy. 

How concerned are you regarding the economic environment?

Cybersecurity is an ongoing process. Because the dangers from cyberspace require comprehensive security thinking and measures that include communication channels, applications, and information in equal measure. Accordingly, cybersecurity is not just an IT task today, but a key issue in strategic risk management.

Wolfgang Schurr, Partner, Cybersecurity and Privacy Leader, PwC Switzerland

Upskilling

Brainware before Hardware

22% of the decision-makers in Switzerland see the definition of future roles and required core skills as the most challenging personnel-related task, while 69% are moderately or extremely concerned about the availability of these competences.

Nonetheless, most of the study participants have already started developing an upskilling programme (37%) or are slowly making progress in this area (36%). 

sad

Please rank the three greatest challenges your organisation currently faces in it's upskilling efforts.

The further development of digital skills is just as important as technological progress itself. It’s simpler and cheaper in the long term to grow the required skills internally than it is to buy them. Because most times what’s needed is not available or affordable.

Jose Marques, Partner, People & Organisation, PwC Switzerland

Climate change

Facts mixed with questions

51% of the CEOs surveyed in Switzerland are moderately or extremely concerned about climate change and environmental damage. 

Clearly, the stakeholder groups’ expectations of company climate protection strategy are considered reasonable (74%) – but not lead to significant new product and service opportunities for their organisations (50%).

Sustainability is a highly complex requirement that goes way beyond the climate discussion, because it concerns the entire value creation circle and all the processes that shape market performance, including finance. The view of decision-makers should be just as comprehensive when they define their approach to climate change and assess how sustainable their line of business and their assets are.

Stephan Hirschi, Director, Sustainability and Climate Change, PwC Switzerland

Get the summary

Contact us

Andreas Staubli

CEO, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 44 72

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Head of Marketing & Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 1885

Anja Brun

Head of Integrated Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 1819

Follow us

Schweizer Ausgabe der «23rd Annual CEO Survey»

An- und Aussichten von Schweizer Entscheidungsträgern zur Wirtschaft


Von CEO zu CEO

Was CEOs weltweit beschäftigt, wie sie darüber denken, was sie tun und wie sie in die Zukunft blicken, analysieren wir seit 23 Jahren und publizieren diese Einschätzungen jeweils in der «Annual CEO Survey» von PwC Global. In der vorliegenden Studie haben wir exklusiv die Antworten der CEOs aus der Schweiz für Sie zusammengetragen und kommentiert. Die Studie widmet sich den Schwerpunktthemen Wachstum, Cyberspace, Upskilling und Klimawandel. 

Download - Schweizer CEO Survey

Andreas Staubli, CEO, PwC Schweiz

Unsere Erkentnisse

Wachstum

Optimistisch zu Hause, besorgt über die Welt

82% geben sich hinsichtlich Umsatzwachstum in den nächsten zwölf Monaten einigermassen oder sehr zuversichtlich. Diese optimistische Einschätzung liegt weit über der globalen Zuversicht (72%). Sie geht unter anderem aus dem Schweizer Wirtschaftskontext hervor, der von Stabilität, Rechtssicherheit und Konsens- statt Machtblockdenken geprägt wird. 

Krisensicher aufgestellt? 

Für 36% der Schweizer CEOs ist Überregulierung die grösste Bedrohung für das Wachstum ihres Unternehmens, gefolgt von Handelskonflikten (33%) und Cyberrisiken (26%).
Allerdings sehen sich 66% der Befragten für eine Krise gewappnet und 50% wollen den Personalbestand in den kommenden zwölf Monaten ausbauen.

sad

Wie zuversichtlich sind Sie in Bezug auf das Umsatzwachstum Ihres Unternehmens in den nächsten zwölf Monaten?

Nachhaltiges Wachstum sollte für die Unternehmen kein Selbstzweck sein. Wir von PwC verstehen es als unverzichtbaren Wertbeitrag an die Gesellschaft. Denn nur in einer prosperierenden Marktwirtschaft lässt sich ein gesunder Wohlstand erhalten und ausbauen.

Stefan Räbsamen, Partner, Verwaltungsratspräsident, PwC Schweiz

Cyberspace

Digitale Sicherheit schafft analoges Vertrauen

50% der Schweizer CEOs erachten Cybersicherheit und digitale Privatshäre als vertrauensbildend. 

Regulierung als Hürde

85% der befragten CEOs bezeichnen die Komplexität von Cyberriskien und 66% die Vorschriften des Gesetzgebers für Cybersicherheit und Datenschutz als zentral für ihre Cyberstrategie. 

sad

Welche Technologien und Eigenschaften der digitalen Welt  sind Ihrer Meinung nach relevant, um das Vertrauen der Gesellschaft aufzubauen?

Cybersicherheit ist ein fortwährender Prozess. Denn die Gefahren aus dem Cyberspace verlangen ein übergreifendes Sicherheitsdenken und Massnahmen, die Kommunikationskanäle, Anwendungen und Informationen gleichermassen einschliessen. Demnach ist Cybersicherheit heute nicht nur eine IT-Aufgabe, sondern ein Schlüsselthema des strategischen Risikomanagements.

Urs Küderli, Director Cybersecurity, PwC Switzerland

Upskilling

Brainware vor Hardware

22% der befragten Entscheidungsträger erachten die Definition von zukünftigen Rollen und Kernkompetenzen als anspruchvollste Personalaufgabe, während 69% sich etwas oder extrem besorgt über deren Verfügbarkeit zeigen. 

Nichtsdestotrotz haben 37% mit dem Aufbau eines Upskilling-Programms gestartet und 36% kommen bereits langsam damit voran. 

sad

Bitte rangieren Sie die Herausforderungen, denen Ihr Unternehmen bei der Weiterentwicklung der personellen Kompetenzen gegenübersteht.

Die Weiterentwicklung von digitalen Kernkompetenzen ist ebenso zentral wie der technologische Fortschritt selbst. Dabei ist es einfacher und langfristig günstiger, die erforderlichen Fähigkeiten in den eigenen Reihen zu entfalten, als sie einzukaufen. Denn meistens ist das, was man braucht, nicht verfügbar oder nicht bezahlbar.

Jose Marques, Partner, People & Organisation, PwC Schweiz

Klimawandel

Tatsache mit Fragezeichen

51% der Schweizer CEOs äussern sich etwas oder extrem besorgt über den Klimawandel und Umweltschäden.

74% der befragten Schweizer CEOs erachten die Erwartungen der Anspruchsgruppen an ihre Haltung zum Klimawandel als angemessen - nicht aber die Chancen der Klimainitiativen für die Herausbildung neuer Produkte und Dienstleistungen (50%).  

Nachhaltigkeit ist ein hoch vernetzter Anspruch, der weit über die Klimadiskussion hinausgeht. Denn sie betrifft den gesamten Wertschöpfungskreis und alle Prozesse der Marktleistungsgestaltung inklusive Finanzierung. Entsprechend ganzheitlich sollte der Blick von Entscheidungsträgern sein, wenn sie ihre Haltung zum Klimawandel definieren und den Nachhaltigkeitsgrad ihres Geschäftsfelds und ihrer Anlagen beurteilen.

Stephan Hirsch, Director, Sustainability and Climate Change, PwC Schweiz

Zusammenfassung herunterladen

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Andreas Staubli

Andreas Staubli

CEO, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 44 72

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Head of Marketing & Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 1885

Anja Brun

Anja Brun

Head of Integrated Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 1819

Follow us