Swiss edition of the

«24th Annual CEO

Survey»

111 Swiss CEOs gave answers on how they are dealing with the effects of COVID-19. But also about the opportunities and risks associated with the accelerated digital transformation.

From CEO to CEO

In uncertain times, only one thing is certain: change. What challenges are Swiss CEOs facing? And what opportunities do these challenges present? We’ve compiled the answers to these and similar questions in our 24th Global Annual CEO Survey 2021 – and this year we’ve again published a separate Swiss edition.

Download the Swiss edition now

Playback of this video is not currently available

1:41

Into the future with optimism and drive

Andreas Staubli, CEO, PwC Switzerland

Our findings in a nutshell

Optimistic outlook for company growth 

Swiss companies are not only optimistic about a global economic comeback, but also about the development of their companies. 84% are convinced that their company’s revenue will grow over the next 12 months. 93% are confident that they will achieve increased revenue over the next three years.

Accelerated transformation processes 

The pandemic has caused decision-makers to question their business principles and strategic direction, resulting in the need for continuous digital transformation becoming the new axiom. 92% of the Swiss CEOs who took part in the survey plan to step up their investment in the digital transformation in the next three years. By global comparison, this figure is 83%.

Find out more in our Swiss report. 

Swiss CEOs are greatly concerned about cyber threats

Swiss CEOs see the threat of cyber attacks as one of the greatest risks for their company’s growth (43%). This is highlighted in particular by international comparison. While 93% of surveyed Swiss CEOs are concerned about cyber threats, the international equivalent of this figure is 8% lower.

Regulation influences risk management

84% of Swiss CEOs use risk management to address cyber threats. Globally, the comparable figure is only 59%. This reflects the fact that in Switzerland some industries – financial service providers, for example – are heavily regulated. For them, cyber threats are, by law, part of day-to-day risk management.

Find out more in our Swiss report. 

Availability of key skills still a major concern 

Even COVID-19 was not able to change the fact that almost two thirds of Swiss CEOs are still concerned about the availability of key qualifications. This represents a fall of 5% compared to last year but is most likely due to the adaptability, agility and resilience of employees. 

The role of the state

79% of those who took part in the Swiss study consider competent, well trained and adaptable employees to be one of the key requirements for business success. The equivalent global figure is 61%. But 79% of Swiss CEOs believe that this falls under the government’s area of responsibility. One of the reasons for this is no doubt the strong collaboration between the private and public sectors when it comes to the development and supply of talent, as is the case with the dual education and vocational training system, for instance. 

Find out more in our Swiss report. 

Low need for action in Switzerland despite increasing relevance 

62% of the surveyed CEOs in Switzerland are concerned about climate change, which is a rise of 11% compared to last year. But only 47% of Swiss decision-makers are increasing their long-term investments in sustainability and environment, social and governance (ESG) initiatives as a result of the COVID-19 crisis. The equivalent global figure is 60%. The reason for this may be that Swiss companies have been actively addressing the issue for quite a few years now and so the need to make bigger investments is lower than in other countries.

The question of who is responsible remains unclear  

At the same time, 45% of Swiss CEOs are of the opinion that the government is responsible for the fight against climate change and environmental damage, while only a third (34%) see this as a priority for economic players. 

Find out more in our Swiss report. 

Insights from our experts

Download the summary 

In this short overview we’ve summarised the most important findings on the different topics covered in the Swiss edition of the 24th Annual CEO Survey

Download the summary now

Design of the survey

Structure of random sample for Switzerland

The 111 CEOs who took part in the Swiss edition represent 6 companies with revenue of more than CHF 10,000 million, 16 companies with revenue between CHF 1,000 million and CHF 9,999 million, 51 companies with revenue between CHF 101 million and CHF 999 million and 32 companies with revenue of up to CHF 100 million. 22% of the companies are listed on the stock exchange, 66% are privately owned and 12% represent the public sector. 42% of the survey participants represent Swiss family-owned companies, where the family holds at least 32% of the shares.

Das Studiendesign des CEO Survey

Contact us

Andreas Staubli

Andreas Staubli

CEO, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 44 72

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Head of Marketing & Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 1885

Anja Brun

Anja Brun

Head of Integrated Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 1819

Follow us

Schweizer Ausgabe:

«24th Annual CEO

Survey»

111 Schweizer CEOs gaben Antworten darauf, wie sie mit den Auswirkungen der COVID-19 Pandemie umgehen. Aber auch darauf, welche Chancen sowie Risiken mit der beschleunigten digitalen Transformation verbunden sind.

Von CEO zu CEO

In Zeiten der Unsicherheit ist nur eines sicher: die Veränderung. Was fordert sie den Schweizer CEOs ab? Und welche Chancen ergeben sich daraus? Antworten auf solche und ähnliche Fragen haben wir in der «24th Global Annual CEO Survey 2021» zusammengetragen – und auch dieses Jahr eine separate Schweizer Ausgabe publiziert.

Schweizer Ausgabe jetzt herunterladen 

Playback of this video is not currently available

1:42

Mit Optimismus und Tempo in die Zukunft

Andreas Staubli, CEO, PwC Schweiz

Unsere Erkenntnisse zusammengefasst

Zuversicht hinsichtlich des unternehmenseigenen Wachstums 

Schweizer Unternehmen sind nicht nur zuversichtlich auf ein weltwirtschaftliches Comeback gestimmt, sondern auch auf die Entwicklung ihrer Unternehmen. So sind 84% davon überzeugt, dass der Umsatz ihres Unternehmens in den nächsten 12 Monaten steigen wird. 93% sind zuversichtlich, dass sie in den nächsten drei Jahren einen Umsatzzuwachs verzeichnen werden.

Beschleunigte Transformationsprozesse 

Die Pandemie hat Entscheidungsträger dazu veranlasst, ihre Geschäftsprinzipien und ihre strategische Ausrichtung zu hinterfragen, wodurch die Notwendigkeit einer konstanten und kontinuierlichen digitalen Transformation zum neuen Axiom wurde. So beabsichtigen 92% der befragten Schweizer CEOs, ihre Investitionen in die digitale Transformation in den nächsten drei Jahren zu erhöhen. Im weltweiten Vergleich sind dies 83%.

Erfahren Sie mehr in unserer Schweizer Ausgabe. 

Grosse Besorgnis über Cyberbedrohungen bei Schweizer CEOs

Schweizer CEOs sehen in der Bedrohung durch Cyberangriffe eine der grössten Gefahren für das Wachstum ihres Unternehmens (43%). Diese Besorgnis zeigt sich besonders deutlich im internationalen Vergleich. Während sich 93% der befragten Schweizer CEOs Sorgen über Cyberbedrohungen machen, sind es international 8% weniger.

Regulierung beeinflusst Risikomanagement 

84% der Schweizer CEOs decken Cyberbedrohungen mit ihrem Risikomanagement ab. Global sind es lediglich 59%. Das reflektiert die Tatsache, dass in der Schweiz manche Branchen stark reguliert sind, zum Beispiel die Finanzdienstleister. Für solche gehören Cyberbedrohungen von Gesetzes wegen in den alltäglichen Umgang mit Risiken.

Erfahren Sie mehr in unserer Schweizer Ausgabe.  

Verfügbarkeit von Schlüsselkompetenzen immer noch eine grosse Sorge 

Auch COVID-19 konnte nichts an der Tatsache ändern, dass nahezu zwei Drittel der Schweizer CEOs weiterhin besorgt über die Verfügbarkeit von Schlüsselqualifikationen sind. Dies stellt zwar einen Rückgang von 5% im Vergleich zum letzten Jahr dar, ist aber höchstwahrscheinlich auf die Anpassungsfähigkeit, Agilität und Belastbarkeit der Mitarbeiter zurückzuführen. 

Die Rolle des Staates

79% der Schweizer Studienteilnehmenden betrachten kompetente, gut ausgebildete und anpassungsfähige Mitarbeitende als eine der wichtigsten Voraussetzungen für unternehmerischen Erfolg. Global sind es 61%. Jedoch weisen 79% der Schweizer CEOs die Verantwortung für dieses Thema der Regierung zu. Grund hierfür ist sicherlich auch die starke Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem privaten und dem öffentlichen Sektor bei der Entwicklung und Bereitstellung von Talenten, wie dies beispielsweise beim dualen Bildungs- und Ausbildungssystem der Fall ist.

Erfahren Sie mehr in unserer Schweizer Ausgabe.  

Trotz steigender Relevanz, geringer Handlungsbedarf in der Schweiz 

62% der befragten CEOs in der Schweiz sind um den Klimawandel besorgt, was einem Anstieg von 11% gegenüber dem Vorjahr entspricht. Jedoch erachten nur 47% der Schweizer Entscheidungsträger, ihre langfristigen Investitionen in Nachhaltigkeits- und ESG-Initiativen als Folge der COVID 19-Krise zu erhöhen. Global gesehen sind es 60%. Dies kann darauf deuten, dass Schweizer Unternehmen bereits seit einigen Jahren auf diesem Gebiet aktiv sind und im Vergleich zu anderen Ländern der Bedarf, grössere Investitionen zu tätigen, geringer ist.


Frage nach dem Handlungsträger bleibt unklar  

Gleichzeitig erachten 45% der Schweizer CEOs den Kampf gegen den Klimawandel und Umweltschäden als Angelegenheit der Regierung, während nur gut ein Drittel (34%) dies als Priorität der Wirtschaftsakteure selbst sieht.

Erfahren Sie mehr in unserer Schweizer Ausgabe.  

Insights unserer Experten


Zusammenfassung herunterladen 

In dieser kurzen Übersicht haben wir die wichtigsten Erkenntnisse zu den verschiedenen Themen der Schweizer Ausgabe der «24th Annual CEO Survey» auf einen Blick zusammengefasst. 

Zusammenfassung jetzt herunterladen 

Das Studiendesign

Struktur Stichprobe Schweiz

Von den 111 CEOs, die an der Schweizer Ausgabe im Januar 2021 teilgenommen haben, repräsentieren 6 Unternehmen einen Umsatz von über 10’000 Mio., 16 Unternehmen mit einem Umsatz zwischen 1’000 Mio. und 9’999 Mio. CHF, 51 Unternehmen mit einem Umsatz zwischen 101 Mio. und 999 Mio. CHF und 32 Unternehmen mit einem Umsatz von bis zu 100 Mio. CHF. 22 % der Unternehmen sind börsenkotiert, 66 % befinden sich in Privatbesitz und 12 % vertreten die öffentliche Hand. 42 % der Studienteilnehmenden sind Schweizer Familienunternehmen mit mindestens 32 % des Aktienanteils in Familienhand.

Das Studiendesign des CEO Survey

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Andreas Staubli

Andreas Staubli

CEO, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 44 72

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Jan-Hendrik Völker-Albert

Head of Marketing & Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 1885

Anja Brun

Anja Brun

Head of Integrated Communications, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 1819

Follow us