Artificial Intelligence is reforming healthcare

Philip van Hövell Health Analytics Leader, Data and Analytics, PwC Switzerland 06 Feb 2019

Artificial Intelligence (AI) in healthcare could bring better forms of therapy for millions of people and increase their quality of life. In this context, in January, ECO on SRF Swiss television dedicated a segment to the revolutionary AI-based health application called ‘Predictive healthcare with real-world evidence for neurological disorders’ (PHREND). The transmission also featured the development team around Amfin Bergmann, neurologist and MS specialist of NeuroTransData (NDT), and Christian Westermann of PwC Switzerland.
AI in healthcare: enormous potential

AI and self-learning systems are becoming increasingly popular, be it in self-driving cars, robot-assisted surgery systems, predictive error detection in production processes or digitalised customer care. All these applications are based on machine learning and intelligent algorithms. The research, development and implementation of AI is a top priority in China, France, Singapore or Japan, for instance; Switzerland, on the other hand, is yet to bridge the gap.

PwC studies reveal that on an international level, Swiss enterprises are lagging far behind when it comes to AI. A total of 15 per cent of companies worldwide are employing Artificial Intelligence, the number in Switzerland, however, is as low as 1 per cent. Unlike other countries, Switzerland has no overarching federal AI strategy, and some companies are more than hesitant to embrace the digital transformation. To make sure that Swiss enterprises will not miss the boat and will be able to exploit the potential of these key technologies, the Swiss government must create a clear regulatory framework and promote education and research.

The healthcare system in particular has a lot of potential for AI applications. Self-learning systems are continuing to evolve and are increasingly applied in many fields of medicine such as image analysis, to mention just one. AI is much faster at comparing and analysing images or detecting anomalies than any physician. Drug development as well gives a key role to AI as it may shorten research cycles quite considerably. Health insurers and hospitals can benefit from the automatisation of processes as it makes them more efficient and lowers costs. The therapy decision support tool – launched by PwC – is therefore a promising AI initiative in healthcare. 

AI is the way forward to personalised MS therapy

‘Predictive healthcare with real-world evidence for neurological disorders’ is the first web application worldwide that provides physicians and patients with a data-based second opinion concerning the efficacy of personalised forms of treatment of multiple sclerosis (MS) at the mere touch of a button. The AI-based software was developed by PwC in collaboration with the NeuroTransData (NTD) network of physicians. It was introduced to the Swiss public in ECO on SRF Swiss television, alongside the development team around NTD neurologist and MS specialist Amfin Bergmann, and Christian Westermann, leader of Data & Analytics at PwC Switzerland.


SRF ECO – on 21 January 2019, Swiss television dedicated a segment to 'Healthcare: Individualised MS therapy thanks to Artificial Intelligence'

‘Predictive healthcare with real-world evidence for neurological disorders’ is the world’s first predictive and personalised software that can calculate the individual effects of any given MS treatment on a patient. It is driven by an algorithm that is based on the data collected from different forms of therapy of 25’000 patients over the course of more than ten years. It can precisely predict the efficacy of any personalised form of treatment.

In order to predict the efficacy of a suggested form of treatment, physicians simply enter a patient’s data, e.g. gender, age, time of MS diagnosis, current form of therapy and previous forms of treatment, EDSS value, time of last exacerbation and number of exacerbations over the past twelve months. Based on these factors, the software was calibrated in such a way that new patients with similar characteristics will be given a prediction of their likely progression of disease after therapy. 

Amfin Bergmann explains: «By means of this algorithm based on the retrospective data, we can take a look into the future. In other words, we can predict the likelihood of a patient remaining exacerbation-free on specific medication, over a defined period of time of two to four years.»

Not only does the solution improve patients’ quality of life, it also lowers healthcare costs, as elaborate trial and error procedures will no longer be necessary. It is currently exclusively used for therapy purposes in relapsing multiple sclerosis, however, there are plans to cover the entire MS spectrum as well as other neuro-degenerative conditions. Christian Westermann affirms: «The platform's principle is applicable to a multitude of medical conditions, not just neuro-degenerative diseases such as MS, migraines or Parkinson’s.»

The right form of therapy without further ado

The platform's Artificial Intelligence acts as a physician’s right hand and facilitates the selection of the best form of treatment for the patient.

‘Predictive healthcare with real-world evidence for neurological disorders’ (PHREND)...

  • reliably predicts disease progression under a variety of forms of MS treatment
  • can deliver a personalised comparison between different forms of therapy
  • provides physicians and patients with a second opinion and therefore increases the trust and transparency of therapy selection
  • increases patients’ quality of life and lowers healthcare costs

 

Contact us

Christian B. Westermann

Partner and Leader Data and Analytics, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 27 97

Philip van Hövell

Health Analytics Leader, Data and Analytics, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 10 76

Künstliche Intelligenz revolutioniert das Gesundheitswesen

Philip van Hövell Health Analytics Leader, Data and Analytics, PwC Switzerland 06 Feb 2019

Der Einsatz von künstlicher Intelligenz im Gesundheitswesen könnte Millionen von Menschen zu besseren Therapien und einer höheren Lebensqualität verhelfen. Im Beitrag der Sendung ECO von SRF werden die KI-basierte Gesundheitsapplikation "Predictive healthcare with real-world evidence for neurological disorders" (PHREND) und das Entwicklungsteam mit Amfin Bergmann von NeuroTransData (NTD) und Christian Westermann von PwC Schweiz vorgestellt.
Viel Potenzial für KI im Gesundheitswesen

Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) und selbstlernende Systeme kommen in immer mehr Bereichen zum Einsatz. Ob selbstfahrendes Auto, roboter-assistiertes Chirurgiesystem, prädiktive Fehlererkennung in Produktionsprozessen oder digitalisierter Kundenservice – all diese Anwendungen basieren auf Machine Learning und intelligenten Algorithmen. Während die Forschung, Entwicklung und Implementierung von künstlicher Intelligenz in Ländern wie China, Frankreich, Singapur oder Japan hohe Priorität geniesst, hat die Schweiz noch viel Aufholbedarf.

Studien von PwC zeigen, dass Schweizer Unternehmen in Sachen künstliche Intelligenz im internationalen Vergleich weit hinterher hinken. Während weltweit bereits 51 Prozent der Unternehmen mit KI arbeiten, sind es in der Schweiz erst 1 Prozent. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Ländern hat die Schweiz keine KI-Strategie auf Bundesebene, und manche Unternehmen nehmen die digitale Transformation zu zögerlich in Angriff. Damit Schweizer Unternehmen den Anschluss nicht verlieren und das Potenzial dieser Schlüsseltechnologie nutzen können, sollte der Bund klare regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen schaffen sowie Bildung und Forschung fördern.

Gerade im Gesundheitswesen ist viel Potenzial für KI-Anwendungen vorhanden. Selbstlernende Systeme entwickeln sich stetig weiter und finden Eingang in viele Bereiche der Medizin, wie zum Beispiel in die Bildanalyse. Künstliche Intelligenz kann viel schneller als jeder Arzt Bilder vergleichen und analysieren und Anomalien entdecken. Auch in der Entwicklung von neuen Medikamenten spielt KI eine wichtige Rolle und kann zu verkürzten Forschungszyklen führen. Bei Krankenkassen und in Spitälern führt die Automatisierung von Prozessen zu mehr Effizienz und Kostensenkungen. Eine vielversprechende KI-Initiative im Gesundheitswesen ist das von PwC lancierte Therapie Decision Support Tool.

Dank KI zur personalisierten MS-Therapie

"Predictive healthcare with real-world evidence for neurological disorders" – zu Deutsch: Prädiktive Gesundheitsversorgung bei neurologischen Störungen mit Daten aus dem Therapiealltag – ist die weltweit erste Webapplikation, die Ärzten und Patienten auf Knopfdruck eine datenbasierte Zweitmeinung zur Wirkung der personalisierten Behandlung von Multipler Sklerose (MS) liefert. Die KI-basierte Software wurde von PwC in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ärztenetzwerk NeuroTransData (NTD) entwickelt. In einem Beitrag der Sendung ECO von SRF werden die Plattform und das Team dahinter mit Amfin Bergmann von NTD, Neurologe und Spezialist für Multiple Sklerose, und Christian Westermann von PwC Schweiz, Leiter Data & Analytics, vorgestellt.

"Predictive healthcare with real-world evidence for neurological disorders"ist das erste Prognosemodell, das die individuelle Wirkung verschiedener MS-Behandlungen berechnen kann. Es wird durch einen Algorithmus angetrieben, der auf der Basis von Daten von Behandlungen von 25’000 Patienten über einen Zeitraum von mehr als zehn Jahren genaue Voraussagen zur Wirksamkeit von personalisierten Therapien machen kann.

Um eine Prognose zu erhalten, gibt der Arzt zunächst die Daten des Patienten ein, wie z.B. Geschlecht, Alter, Zeitpunkt der MS-Diagnose, aktuelle Therapie und Vortherapien,  EDSS-Wert, Zeitpunkt des letzten Schubs und die Anzahl der Schübe in den vergangenen zwölf Monaten. Die Software wurde anhand dieser Faktoren so kalibriert, dass neue Patienten mit ähnlichen Eigenschaften den wahrscheinlichen zukünftigen Krankheitsverlauf nach Therapie aufgelistet zu sehen bekommen.

Anfim Bergmann erklärt: «Durch den Algorithmus können wir anhand der retrospektiven Daten in die Zukunft schauen. Das heisst, wir erfahren, wie hoch die Wahrscheinlichkeit ist, dass ein Patient in einem definierten Zeitraum von zwei bis vier Jahren unter einem bestimmten Medikament schub- und progressionsfrei bleibt.» 

Die Applikation führt nicht nur zu einer besseren Lebensqualität der Patienten, sondern senkt auch die Gesundheitskosten, da das aufwändige Ausprobieren von Therapien wegfällt. Zurzeit ist das Tool auf die Behandlung der schubförmigen Multiplen Sklerose beschränkt, geplant ist jedoch, das ganze MS-Spektrum sowie andere neurodegenerative Krankheiten abzudecken. Christian Westermann betont: «Das Prinzip der Software ist nicht nur für neurologische Krankheiten wie MS, Migräne oder Parkinson anwendbar, sondern auch für ganz andere Krankheitsbilder.»

Ohne Umweg zur passenden Therapie

Die Plattform unterstützt den Arzt mit künstlicher Intelligenz, die für den individuellen Patienten beste Behandlungsmethode auszuwählen.

"Predictive healthcare with real-world evidence for neurological disorders" (PHREND) ...

  • macht verlässliche Prognosen zum Krankheitsverlauf unter Anwendung unterschiedlicher Multiple-Sklerose-Behandlungen
  • ermöglicht den personalisierten Vergleich verschiedener Therapien
  • liefert Ärzten und Patienten eine Zweitmeinung und erhöht somit die Sicherheit und Transparenz der Therapiewahl
  • führt zu einer besseren Lebensqualität der Patienten und senkt die Gesundheitskosten

 

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Christian B. Westermann

Partner and Leader Data and Analytics, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 27 97

Philip van Hövell

Health Analytics Leader, Data and Analytics, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 10 76