Skip to content Skip to footer
Search
PwC

Menu

Events

Loading Results

Ransomware as a business model

How it works and how to respond

Johannes Dohren
Partner, Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Even if individual steps differ in detail, the course of a ransomware follows a similar logic. It can be illustrated by being divided into four phases – preparation, attack, spread and infection. In our blog series, we show these phases based on an example scenario from the perspective of a ransomware operator, and show which security measures are truly effective. Finally, we touch on the legal aspects of ransomware payments.

Ransomware attacks continued to be the biggest threat to corporate cybersecurity in 2021 – across all regions and industries. The number of reported ransomware attacks, in which criminals attempt to extort companies, increased from 1,300 in 2020 to 2,435 in 2021.

Source: PwC, 2022, Cyber Threats 2021: A Year in Retrospect
The New Equation

Cybersecurity and Privacy

At PwC, we help clients evaluate their ability to deal with the main cyber risks and threats of the digital world in an easy and understandable way.

Learn more


Phase 4: the infection

In this phase, the hacker collects all the data which may be relevant. This includes documents, database extracts as well as access and contact details. Customer details are also of interest here. They can be used or resold for future attack campaigns, and thus enable the next phase in the criminal ransomware value chain. Data exfiltration usually takes several days. File systems and databases are searched automatically and the results downloaded directly, although access often needs to be re-established manually. Our attacker cannot accomplish all this him/herself, and so depends on other cybercriminals who specialise in this phase.

Once the data has been exfiltrated, the hacker activates the actual malware and encrypts the data. The encryption directly puts the attacked organisation under pressure, and at the same time is proof that the attack has been carried out successfully. With this, the work in Phase 4 is done. The hacker may pass relevant information onto another cybercriminal who takes over the communication with the “new client”, and after a good start to the week the hacker may move onto the next organisation on his/her list of targets.

Cyber incident response and recovery

We have a broad range of flexible solutions, including entire packages, to help you plan and prepare for cybersecurity incidents.

Find out more


What can you do?

If the cybercriminals have gotten this far, you can no longer prevent the attack. However, you can still contain it, as well as limit the damage and in particular the amount of work which needs to be done afterwards. This is not just sensible from an economic point of view; it is also urgently necessary to react quickly to restore trust in the company’s IT systems.

Monitoring, Incident Detection & Response (IDR)

  • Monitor the critical assets in your network at the highest possible level. If, for example, you detect a large number of read-only accesses to datasets in a very short period of time, multiple database dumps are created in succession from the same account and outgoing traffic has seen a dramatic upsurge, you should trigger the alarm. A lot of promises in this respect are made by manufacturers of security solutions under the heading of “anomaly recognition”, though these skills also need to be regularly tested in practice.
  • As soon as you notice an attack, the IDR processes that have been established should be implemented. Ensure that the isolation and containment measures are implemented quickly to involve the relevant stakeholders, and if necessary to report to the responsible regional data protection authority. This has no direct relevance to preventing attacks, but should still be done within the statutory period to prevent any claims for compensation from being made.
  • These processes and the clear understanding of the roles of the participants must form part of your Information Security Management System (ISMS) or Cyber Security Management System (CSMS), and must be practised on a regular basis. It makes sense for companies in particular to combine this with red teaming, meaning independent security teams which simulate attacks.

Backup & Restore

  • The more competent you are at backing up and restoring data, the shorter your downtimes are and the losses through ransomware as a result. Depending on which risk management system you use, you have already defined the restore points beforehand, stored the backups outside your network and also practised restoring data in case of emergency.

#social#

Building trust to succeed

At PwC, we are a community of solvers – powered by technology – committed to helping you protect everyone, and everything, you care about.

Explore our offering

Contact us

Johannes Dohren

Johannes Dohren

Partner, Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 22 20

Naveen Shanmugasundaram

Naveen Shanmugasundaram

Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 24 92

Skip to content Skip to footer
Suche

Ergebnisse laden

Ransomware als Geschäftsmodell

Wie es funktioniert und wie Sie sich schützen können

Johannes Dohren
Partner, Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Auch wenn sich einzelne Schritte im Detail unterscheiden, ist der Ablauf eines Ransomware-Angriffs im Grunde immer gleich. Er lässt sich anhand von vier Phasen – Vorbereitung, Angriff, Ausbreitung und Infektion – darstellen. In unserer Blog-Serie veranschaulichen wir diese Phasen anhand eines Beispielszenarios aus der Sicht eines Ransomware-Betreibers und zeigen auf, welche Schutzmassnahmen wirklich effektiv sind. Abschliessend befassen wir uns mit rechtlichen Aspekten von Ransomware-Zahlungen.

Ransomware-Angriffe waren auch im Jahr 2021 die grösste Bedrohung für die Cybersicherheit von Unternehmen – in allen Regionen und Branchen. Die Zahl der gemeldeten Ransomware-Angriffe, bei denen Kriminelle versuchten, Unternehmen zu erpressen, stieg von 1300 im Jahr 2020 auf 2435 im Jahr 2021.

Quelle: PwC, Cyberrisiken 2021: Das Jahr im Rückblick, 2022
The New Equation

Cybersecurity und Datenschutz

Cyber-Angriffe stellen eine fortwährende Gefahr für Unternehmen aus allen Geschäftsfeldern dar. Wir helfen Ihnen, die Risiken zu erkennen und ihnen wirksam zu begegnen.

Mehr erfahren


Phase 4: die Infektion

In dieser Phase sammelt der:die Hacker:in alle möglicherweise relevanten Daten ein. Dazu gehören Dokumente, Datenbank-Auszüge sowie Zugangs- und Kontaktdaten. Bei dieser Exfiltration sind auch Kontakt- oder Kundendaten von Interesse. Sie können für weitere Angriffs-Kampagnen verwendet oder weiterverkauft werden und ermöglichen damit die nächste Phase der kriminellen Ransomware-Wertschöpfungskette. Die Exfiltration kostet Zeit und dauert meist mehrere Tage. Dateisysteme und Datenbanken werden zwar automatisiert durchsucht und die Ergebnisse direkt heruntergeladen, dennoch muss der Zugriff oft immer wieder manuell hergestellt werden. Unsere angreifende Person kann dies nicht alles selbst bewerkstelligen und stützt sich daher auf andere Cyberkriminelle, die auf diese Phase spezialisiert sind.

Sind die Daten exfiltriert, aktiviert der:die Hacker:in die eigentliche Malware und verschlüsselt die Daten. Die Verschlüsselung setzt die attackierte Organisation direkt unter Druck und ist zugleich Beleg dafür, dass der Angriff erfolgreich durchgeführt wurde. Mit diesem Schritt ist die Arbeit der vierten Phase getan, der:die Hacker:in übergibt den «Bearbeitungsstand» unter Umständen einem:einer anderen Cyberkriminellen, der:die sich um die weitere Kommunikation mit dem «Neukunden» kümmert, und kann sich nach einem guten Start in die Woche der nächsten Organisation auf der Auswahlliste widmen.

Cyber incident response and recovery

Bereiten Sie sich dank unserer vielseitigen und flexiblen Lösungen – einschliesslich Gesamtpaketen – erfolgreich auf bevorstehende Cyber-Bedrohungen vor.

Zum Angebot


Was können Sie nun tun?

Wenn die Cyberkriminellen bis hierhin gekommen sind, können Sie den Angriff nicht mehr abwenden. Aber Sie können ihn noch eindämmen sowie den Schaden und damit insbesondere den Aufwand für die anschliessenden Arbeiten begrenzen. Das ist nicht nur aus wirtschaftlicher Sicht sinnvoll; auch um das Vertrauen in die eigene IT wiederherzustellen, ist eine schnelle Reaktion zwingend nötig.

Monitoring, Incident Detection & Response (IDR)

  • Überwachen Sie die kritischen Assets in Ihrem Netzwerk auf einem möglichst hohen Level. Wenn Sie feststellen, dass zum Beispiel in sehr kurzer Zeit sehr viele, ausschliesslich lesende Zugriffe auf Datensätze erfolgen, hintereinander vom selben Account Datenbankdumps erstellt werden und der ausgehende Traffic sprunghaft ansteigt, sollte ein Alarm ausgelöst werden. Unter dem Schlagwort «Anomalieerkennung» wird von Herstellern von Sicherheitslösungen diesbezüglich zwar viel versprochen, allerdings sollten diese Fähigkeiten auch regelmässig in der Praxis getestet werden.
  • Sobald Sie einen Angriff bemerken, sollten die zuvor eingerichteten IDR-Prozesse zuverlässig greifen. Sorgen Sie für eine schnelle Umsetzung der Massnahmen zur Isolierung und Eindämmung (Isolation & Containment), für die Einbeziehung der relevanten Stakeholder und gegebenenfalls für die Meldung an die zuständige Landesbehörde für Datenschutz. Letzteres hat zwar nicht direkt mit der Angriffsabwehr zu tun, sollte aber innerhalb der gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Frist erfolgen, um eventuelle Bussgeldforderungen zu vermeiden.
  • Diese Prozesse und das klare Rollenverständnis aller Beteiligten müssen Bestandteil Ihres Information-Security-Managementsystems (ISMS) bzw. Cyber-Security-Managementsystems (CSMS) sein und regelmässig geübt werden. Eine Kombination mit Red Teaming, das heisst mit unabhängigen Sicherheitsteams, die Angriffe simulieren, ist an dieser Stelle insbesondere für Konzerne sinnvoll.

Datensicherung und -Wiederherstellung (Backup & Restore)

  • Je besser Ihre Fähigkeiten in der Datensicherung und -Wiederherstellung sind, desto geringer sind auch Ihre Ausfallzeiten und damit die Verluste durch Ransomware. In Abhängigkeit von Ihrem Risikomanagement haben Sie bereits im Vorfeld die Wiederherstellungszeitpunkte definiert, die Backups ausserhalb Ihres Netzwerks gelagert und auch die Wiederherstellung für den Ernstfall geübt.

#social#

Mit Vertrauen zum Erfolg

Bei PwC sind wir eine Gemeinschaft von Problemlösenden, die Ihnen – unterstützt durch Technologie – helfen, alle und alles zu schützen, was Ihnen wichtig ist.

Mehr zu unseren Dienstleistungen

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Johannes Dohren

Johannes Dohren

Partner, Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 22 20

Naveen Shanmugasundaram

Naveen Shanmugasundaram

Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 24 92