Skip to content Skip to footer
Search
PwC

Menu

Events

Loading Results

Ransomware as a business model

How it works and how to respond

Johannes Dohren
Partner, Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Ransomware attacks have become a lucrative business for cybercriminals, which they use to extort millions every year. For example, the group behind the NetWalker ransomware software is said to have pocketed more than 25 million US dollars in just four months. A ransomware value chain has developed involving various different highly-professionalised groups. These include the developers and sellers of malware, which provide “ransomware-as-a-service” in the sense of today’s service economy, as well as the operators of malware, which spread and use it.

It also includes “support” specialists, who for example handle enquiries from unwilling “customers” through hotlines. This differentiation means that criminals are targeting a much wider range of parties than just large business and companies.

61% of Swiss executives expect a surge in reportable ransomware incidents in 2022.

Source: PwC, 2022 Global Digital Trust Insights
The New Equation

Cybersecurity and Privacy

At PwC, we help clients evaluate their ability to deal with the main cyber risks and threats of the digital world in an easy and understandable way.

Learn more


The development of ransomware attacks

Originally, a ransomware attack meant that the relevant working data in the company’s network was encrypted by using malware. The attackers then demanded a ransom to decrypt it. Previously, cybercriminals targeted as many companies and systems as possible almost indiscriminately. The sheer number of parties involved alone made it a lucrative business model. Since then, many companies have adopted an effective strategy for backing up and restoring data as the most effective measure against ransomware attacks, and are well prepared.

This has led to cybercriminals seeing their incomes fall, which in turn has led them to adapt their business model. Attackers have now gone one step further and copy sensitive data before encrypting it, especially customer data, so that they can now also blackmail their victims with the threat of having their data published. They tell the affected parties that publishing the data would constitute a breach of data protection legislation (e.g. the GDPR), and the company would be obliged to pay a fine. It is true that such a case may mean a breach of data protection legislation, which may also lead to prosecution. What is false, however, is the idea that paying a ransom or not has any bearing on whether a breach of the GDPR has occurred.

The fact is, a successful ransomware attack almost always causes significant damage, whether damage to the company’s public image through customer data (e.g. passwords, medical documents, financial data, shopping habits) being leaked or the loss of intellectual property (e.g. source codes, construction plans, formulas, films). Affected companies often see paying a ransom as the lesser of two evils.

Cyber incident response and recovery

We have a broad range of flexible solutions, including entire packages, to help you plan and prepare for cybersecurity incidents.

Find out more


Phase 1: Making preparations

Imagine the attacker as an employee in a small criminal organisation within the ransomware value chain. This person’s main job is to identify suitable companies as targets and to carry out the attack. As a first step, the potential targets are spied on and information is gathered about them. There are two different approaches to this: You can attack on a large scale in order to blackmail as many companies as possible – some of them are bound to be willing to pay large ransoms. The more lucrative option, however, is to target companies with highly sensitive data so that you can demand the highest ransoms possible. In our scenario, the attacker chooses the second option. To do this, the person makes a list of companies and uses different sources to find out more about them. In particular, they read the publicly available financial reports. Among other things, they can work out when the company last invested in their IT systems and how much ransom they can extort out of them. They also look for job openings because these can be particularly revealing for cybercriminals, for example when they advertise for administrators with a knowledge of outdated systems such as Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 R2. They compile the information they have gained into a short profile so they can assess and prioritise it. The possible gains are always weighed up against the expected costs.

After a target has been chosen, the attacker gathers more information. For example, they make lists of employees and their e-mail addresses, or try and find out whether certain servers, clients, IoT devices or production facilities (operational technology, OT) can be accessed online and allow login attempts with default names and passwords.

The malware and other tools have already been prepared or bought by third parties. All the hacker has to do is select and use the right versions for the target, i.e. enter the IP and e-mail addresses. They also set up their own infrastructure where they can upload the stolen customer data.

Emerge stronger through disruption podcast

Ransomware attacks hit without warning, inflicting serious damage with effects that can linger for years. With strong crisis management capabilities, however, companies can mitigate the damage – and even grow trust with customers, deepening the connection to their values and purpose.

Listen now

Outlook

Even if individual steps differ in detail, the course of a ransomware follows a similar logic. It can be illustrated using four phases – preparation, attack, propagation and infection. In a series of blogs, we will illustrate these phases using an example scenario from the perspective of a ransomware operator and discuss the effectiveness of protective measures. In the last blog, we’ll look at the legal aspects of paying a ransom in Switzerland.

#social#

Building trust to succeed

At PwC, we are a community of solvers – powered by technology – committed to helping you protect everyone, and everything, you care about.

Explore our offering

Contact us

Johannes Dohren

Johannes Dohren

Partner, Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 22 20

Naveen Shanmugasundaram

Naveen Shanmugasundaram

Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Tel: +41 58 792 24 92

Skip to content Skip to footer
Suche

Ergebnisse laden

Ransomware als Geschäftsmodell

Wie es funktioniert und wie Sie sich schützen können

Johannes Dohren
Partner, Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Schweiz

Ransomware-Angriffe sind für Cyberkriminelle zu einem lukrativen Geschäft geworden, mit dem sie jährlich Summen in Höhe mehrerer Millionen erbeuten. Die Gruppe hinter der Ransomware NetWalker soll zum Beispiel über 25 Millionen US-Dollar Lösegelder innerhalb von vier Monaten eingestrichen haben. Rund um Ransomware hat sich mittlerweile eine Wertschöpfungskette entwickelt, in die verschiedene, professionell agierende Gruppen involviert sind. Dazu gehören die Entwickler und Verkäufer der Malware, die ganz im Sinne der heutigen Serviceökonomie «Ransomware-as-a-Service» anbieten, sowie die Betreiber der Malware, die sie verbreiten und nutzen.

Auch Spezialisten für den «Support», die zum Beispiel über Hotlines die Anfragen der unfreiwilligen «Kunden» abwickeln, gehören dazu. Diese Ausdifferenzierung führt zu einer gewissen Vielfalt bei der Auswahl der Ziele – es geraten nicht nur grosse Firmen und Konzerne in das Visier der Kriminellen.

61% der Führungskräfte in der Schweiz erwarten eine Zunahme der meldepflichtigen Ransomware-Angriffe im Jahr 2022.

Quelle: PwCs Global Digital Trust Insights 2022
The New Equation

Cybersecurity und Datenschutz

Cyber-Angriffe stellen eine fortwährende Gefahr für Unternehmen aus allen Geschäftsfeldern dar. Wir helfen Ihnen, die Risiken zu erkennen und ihnen wirksam zu begegnen.

Mehr erfahren


Entwicklung der Ransomware-Angriffe

Ursprünglich wurden bei einem Ransomware-Angriff die relevanten Arbeitsdaten im Firmennetzwerk mithilfe von Schadsoftware verschlüsselt. Für die Entschlüsselung verlangten die Angreifer dann ein Lösegeld (Ransom). Damals nahmen die Cyberkriminellen fast wahllos so viele Firmen und Systeme wie möglich ins Visier. Allein durch die Masse der Betroffenen ergab sich ein lukratives Geschäftsmodell. Viele Firmen haben sich inzwischen mit einem funktionierenden Konzept für Datensicherung und -wiederherstellung als effektivste Massnahme gegen diese Art von Angriffen ausgestattet und sind gut gewappnet. Das führte zur Verringerung der Einnahmen seitens der Cyberkriminellen, die daraufhin ihr Geschäftsmodell anpassten.

Die Angreifer gehen mittlerweile einen Schritt weiter und kopieren vor der Verschlüsselung sensible Daten, insbesondere Kundendaten, um ihre Opfer zusätzlich mit der Veröffentlichung dieser Daten zu erpressen. Sie suggerieren den Betroffenen, dass durch die Veröffentlichung ein Verstoss gegen Datenschutzgrundverordnungen (bspw. EU-GDPR/DSGVO) vorliegen würde und die Firma deswegen zur Zahlung eines hohen Bussgelds verpflichtet sei. Richtig ist, dass durch einen derartigen Vorfall ein tatsächlicher Verstoss gegen Datenschutzverordnungen oder Gesetze aufgedeckt und auch weiterverfolgt werden kann. Falsch hingegen ist die Schlussfolgerung, dass die Lösegeldzahlung oder deren Ablehnung Einfluss auf den Tatbestand eines Verstosses gegen die DSGVO haben könnte.

Fakt ist: Bei einem erfolgreichen Ransomware-Angriff droht nahezu immer ein bedeutender Schaden, sei es der Imageschaden durch die Veröffentlichung von Kundendaten (z. B. Passwörter, medizinische Unterlagen, Finanzdaten, Kaufgewohnheiten) oder der Verlust geistigen Eigentums (z. B. Quellcodes, Konstruktionspläne, Rezepturen, Filme). Nicht selten sehen die betroffenen Firmen in der Lösegeldzahlung das geringere Übel und gehen auf diese ein.

Cyber incident response and recovery

Bereiten Sie sich dank unserer vielseitigen und flexiblen Lösungen – einschliesslich Gesamtpaketen – erfolgreich auf bevorstehende Cyber-Bedrohungen vor.

Zum Angebot


Phase 1: die Vorbereitung

Stellen Sie sich die angreifende Person als Mitarbeiter:in einer kleinen kriminellen Organisation innerhalb der Wertschöpfungskette für Ransomware vor. Die wesentliche Aufgabe dieser Person besteht darin, geeignete Unternehmen als Angriffsziele zu identifizieren und den Angriff durchzuführen. Im ersten Schritt werden die potenziellen Ziele ausgespäht und Informationen über sie gesammelt. Dafür gibt es zwei verschiedene Vorgehensweisen: Es kann die breite Masse anvisiert werden, um möglichst viele Unternehmen zu erpressen – einige von ihnen werden bestimmt auf die Lösegeldforderungen bis zu einer gewissen Höhe eingehen. Die lukrativere Option besteht jedoch in der gezielten Auswahl von Unternehmen mit sehr sensiblen Daten, um möglichst hohe Lösegelder fordern zu können. In unserem Szenario entscheidet sich der:die Angreifer:in für die zweite Variante. Dazu arbeitet die Person eine Liste von Firmen ab und recherchiert in unterschiedlichen Quellen, um mehr über die fraglichen Unternehmen zu erfahren. Sie liest insbesondere die öffentlich verfügbaren Finanzberichte. Daraus kann sie unter anderem ableiten, wann das Unternehmen zuletzt Investitionen in die IT getätigt hat und wie viel Lösegeld sie verlangen kann. Sie sucht auch nach Stellenausschreibungen, denn diese können für Cyberkriminelle besonders aufschlussreich sein, etwa wenn Administratoren mit Kenntnissen für veraltete Systeme wie Windows 7 oder Windows Server 2008 R2 gesucht werden. Die gewonnenen Informationen fasst sie in einem Kurzprofil zusammen, um sie zu bewerten und zu priorisieren. Dabei wird der mögliche Gewinn stets dem erwarteten Aufwand gegenübergestellt.

Nach der Wahl eines Ziels sammelt die angreifende Person weitere Informationen. Sie erstellt zum Beispiel Listen von Mitarbeiter:innen und ihren E-Mail-Adressen oder versucht herauszufinden, ob einige Server, Clients, IoT-Geräte oder Produktionsanlagen (Operational Technology, OT) aus dem Internet erreichbar sind und Anmeldeversuche mit Standardnamen und Passwörtern zulassen.

Die Vorbereitung der Malware und weiteren Tools wurde bereits von Dritten erledigt oder eingekauft. Der:die Hacker:in muss lediglich die passenden Versionen für das Ziel auswählen und einstellen, also die IP- und E-Mail-Adressen eintragen. Zudem richtet er:sie die eigene Infrastruktur ein, in die die entwendeten Kundendaten hochgeladen werden sollen.

Emerge stronger through disruption podcast

Ransomware attacks hit without warning, inflicting serious damage with effects that can linger for years. With strong crisis management capabilities, however, companies can mitigate the damage – and even grow trust with customers, deepening the connection to their values and purpose.

Listen now

Ausblick

Auch wenn sich einzelne Schritte im Detail unterscheiden, ist der Ablauf eines Ransomware-Angriffs im Grunde immer gleich. Er lässt sich anhand von vier Phasen – Vorbereitung, Angriff, Ausbreitung und Infektion – darstellen. In unserer Blog-Serie veranschaulichen wir diese Phasen anhand eines Beispielszenarios aus der Sicht eines Ransomware-Betreibers und zeigen auf, welche Schutzmassnahmen wirklich effektiv sind. Abschliessend befassen wir uns mit rechtlichen Aspekten von Ransomware-Zahlungen.

#social#

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Johannes Dohren

Johannes Dohren

Partner, Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 22 20

Naveen Shanmugasundaram

Naveen Shanmugasundaram

Cybersecurity and Privacy, PwC Switzerland

Tel.: +41 58 792 24 92