In the spotlight: trust in the Principalty of Liechtenstein

In Liechtenstein we Trust

Martin A. Meyer
Partner and Leader Tax, PwC Liechtenstein

In the Principality of Liechtenstein the word ‘trust’ has a double meaning. On the one hand it stands for a long fiduciary tradition of holding people’s wealth in trust. On the other hand a trust is the name of a legal entity under Liechtenstein company law. Few countries have worked harder than the Principality to build trust in their integrity – because trust isn’t just in Liechtenstein’s DNA, it’s also the key to its future success.

Since 1926 trusts have been embodied in Liechtenstein law in the Persons and Companies Act (PGR). Switzerland, by contrast, despite recognising foreign trusts, does not have its own law on trusts. Trustees in Liechtenstein have more comprehensive responsibilities than their counterparts in Switzerland. They must have a licence to operate as a trustee and are subject to the FMA, the Liechtenstein financial market supervisory authority.

Based on trust

In a trust arrangement, a settlor transfers the trust property (trust fund) to a trustee. The trustee undertakes to administer or use the property in their own name as an independent legal owner for the benefit of one or more beneficiaries. A trust is a contractual legal relationship rather than a legal entity, and has no legal personality. Settlors transfer their assets to the trustee on the basis of trust in their abilities and integrity – hence the name.

Trusts can be set up for charitable, social, cultural or similar purposes. Similar to foundations, they follow global trends and international standards. A Liechtenstein trust is especially suited for the long-term preservation of business or family assets, for example to safeguard owners of assets in countries where there’s a risk of expropriation, to maintain group structures over generations, or for sustainable succession arrangements. What makes trusts particularly interesting is the individual room for manoeuvre they provide: a trust agreement can be set up to cover just about any arrangement.

Trust is in the DNA

Wealth and asset management, and the requisite legal set-ups, have a venerable tradition in Liechtenstein. The Princely Family itself embodies a dynasty philosophy, and has invested most of its wealth in foundations and trusts. Liechtenstein banks have also specialised in wealth and asset management for private clients and institutional investors. The Principality’s first bank, Liechtensteinische Landesbank (LLB), was established in 1861. The goal back then was to cover the savings and loans needs of a population of small farmers and artisans. LGT Bank, founded in 1920 and taken over by the Princely Family in 1930, concentrated from the outset on managing foreign assets. Verwaltungs- und Privat-Bank (VP Bank), which goes back to 1956, is also closely associated with the trust business. Liechtenstein has positioned itself as a centre of wealth and asset management, establishing trust as a fundamental value. Now the financial services sector is an important pillar of the Liechtenstein economy, accounting for 23% of economic output (see Figure 1).

Figure 1: Almost a quarter of Liechtenstein’s economic output comes from the financial industry.

Economic globalisation has led to close dependencies between the international financial markets and has created a need for greater transparency all over the world. Liechtenstein’s trust and financial services industry has also had to confront this change. In the last 15 years the Principality has ushered in comprehensive changes. The country pursues a consistent white-money strategy and in the 2009 Liechtenstein Declaration set down its commitment to the OECD standards on transparency and the exchange of information in tax matters. Since then the country has been steadily strengthening the regulatory framework governing the trust and financial industry by way of an extensive web of bilateral and multilateral agreements on double taxation and the exchange of information.

Every trick in the book

Trust remains the basis of any successful relationship in the trust business. And in any business that revolves around trust, you’re also sure to find criminal energy and fraudulent intentions. One of Liechtenstein’s strengths lies in its ability to defend this trust as its most precious asset. In June 2019, H.S.H. Hereditary Prince Alois announced the intention of consolidating the legal foundations of the trust business even further. The Ministry for General Government Affairs and Finance intends to amend the law to safeguard quality in the trust business, strengthen trust in the industry, and counter potential fraud and abuse. The motion is currently in consultation. Added to this, the FMA is to be given a more pronounced supervisory role.

In recent years international regulations have also become drastically tighter in an attempt to create transparency and prevent abuse (see Figure 2). For years Liechtenstein has taken a zero-tolerance approach to money laundering and the financing of terrorism. As a member of the European Economic Area (EEA), it has implemented the EU’s 4th Anti-Money Laundering Directive and the Regulation on information accompanying transfers of funds. The relevant implementing provisions are to be found in the Due Diligence Act and Ordinance. In 2013/14 the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and Moneyval attested to Liechtenstein’s high standards in combating money laundering and the financing of terrorism.

Figure 2: Liechtenstein has systematically transformed itself into a nation of trust.

Offshore to onshore

As part of its code of conduct for business taxation, the EU is cracking down on tax evasion at offshore centres such as the British Virgin Islands, the Bahamas, Bermuda and the Channel Islands. Now companies based in these centres need to have sufficient economic substance, and are subject to comprehensive disclosure requirements. In the wake of these obligations many offshore structures are no longer tenable because they do not reflect real economic activity. A global shift in assets from offshore to onshore has thus begun. Current offshore wealth structures are returning to the domicile of the actual economic beneficiaries, and will presumably be spread over the whole world. In the German-speaking world in particular, Liechtenstein enjoys international recognition as an agile jurisdiction with a modern legal system.

Small, but oh my!

Liechtenstein may be a small country, but it does offer a whole range of interesting advantages, all of which create the ideal foundation for sustainable wealth structures:

  • The constitutional hereditary monarchy is built on parliamentary and democratic foundations going back to 1719. The Princely Family thinks in generations and avoids short-term changes of direction. This guarantees political stability.
  • As a member of the European Economic Area (EEA) and a partner to Switzerland in a customs union, Liechtenstein is a gateway to two internationally established domestic markets.
  • The Liechtenstein banking system is very stable, with high Tier 1 ratios and solid equity funding ratios.
  • Every year without fail, Standard & Poor’s gives Liechtenstein a triple-A rating. Thanks to strict budgetary discipline, Liechtenstein is one of the few countries without government debt.
  • The production of goods accounts for around 43% of gross value added, one of the highest figures in the world.
  • The completely revised law on companies, trusts and foundations is modern and flexible, responding to the needs of our times and providing many different options, especially when it comes to succession arrangements.
  • After a complete revision of tax law in 2011, it now meets all the international standards set by the EU and OECD.
  • Around 38,000 people live in Liechtenstein. Added to this are more than 20,000 people who commute there to work every day. Liechtenstein has access to a rich pool of talent and qualified workers, especially in Austria and Switzerland.

Trust as an opportunity for neighbouring countries

Liechtenstein has recognised the needs of the globalised economy and is transforming its trust business into one of the most modern in the world. Trust is one of the most important factors underlying this transformation.

Liechtenstein and Switzerland aren’t just bound together in a customs union. In many respects they also complement each other in the trust and financial services industry. For one thing, Liechtenstein provides more than 10,000 Swiss people with jobs. Switzerland can also take advantage of the Principality’s modern, flexible company law. This allows for alternative succession arrangements for wealthy families. Liechtenstein also has access to the EU market. In combination, Switzerland and Liechtenstein can offer the ideal solution to meet global needs – a solution that can even withstand the pressure of the international community’s expectations.

Contact us

Martin A. Meyer

Partner, Leader Tax, PwC Liechtenstein

Tel: +41 58 792 42 96

Im Fokus: Vertrauen in Liechtenstein

In Liechtenstein we Trust

Martin A. Meyer
Partner und Leader Tax, PwC Liechtenstein

In Liechtenstein hat der englische Begriff «trust» eine doppelte Bedeutung. Zum einen steht er für eine lange Tradition treuhänderischer Geschäftstätigkeit. Zum anderen bezeichnet er die liechtensteinische Treuhänderschaft als Rechtsform des Gesellschaftsrechts. Liechtenstein engagiert sich für das Vertrauen in seine Integrität wie kaum ein anderes Land. Denn Vertrauen gehört nicht nur zur DNA, sondern zum Erfolg.

Seit 1926 ist der Trust – zu Deutsch Treuhänderschaft – in Liechtenstein im Personen- und Gesellschaftsrecht (PGR) verankert. Die Schweiz anerkennt zwar ausländische Treuhänderschaften, hat aber kein eigenes Trustrecht. Ein Treuhänder in Liechtenstein trägt demzufolge eine umfassendere Verantwortung als ein Treuhänder in der Schweiz. Er muss für sein Wirken eine Lizenz erlangen und untersteht der liechtensteinischen Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA).

In treuen Händen

Bei einer Treuhänderschaft wird das Treuhandvermögen (Treugut) vom Treugeber einem Treuhänder übertragen. Dieser geht die Verpflichtung ein, dass er das Treugut als selbstständiger Rechtsträger im eigenen Namen zugunsten eines oder mehrerer Begünstigter verwaltet oder einsetzt. Die Treuhänderschaft ist keine juristische Person, sondern ein vertragliches Rechtsverhältnis ohne Rechtspersönlichkeit. Demnach übergibt der Treugeber sein Vermögen dem Treuhänder im Vertrauen in dessen Fähigkeiten und Rechtschaffenheit – daher der Name.

Treuhänderschaften sind für wohltätige, soziale, kulturelle oder sinnverwandte Zwecke gedacht. Ähnlich wie Stiftungen orientieren sie sich an globalen Trends und internationalen Standards. Die liechtensteinische Treuhänderschaft eignet sich besonders zur langfristigen Sicherung eines Firmen- oder Familienvermögens, zum Beispiel, um Besitztümer in Ländern mit Enteignungsrisiko zu schützen, um Konzernstrukturen über Generationen zusammenzuhalten oder für nachhaltige Nachfolgelösungen. Besonders interessant ist die Treuhänderschaft aufgrund ihres individuellen Gestaltungsspielraums: Mit einem Trustvertrag lässt sich beinahe alles regeln.

Vertrauen in der DNA

Verwalten von Vermögen mit entsprechenden Rechtsformen hat in Liechtenstein Tradition. Die Fürstenfamilie selbst verkörpert das Denken in Dynastien und hat ihr Vermögen mehrheitlich in Stiftungen und Trusts angelegt. Auch die liechtensteinischen Banken haben sich auf die Vermögensverwaltung für Privatkunden und institutionelle Anleger spezialisiert. Die Liechtensteinische Landesbank (LLB) als erste Bank Liechtensteins entstand 1861. Ihr damaliges Ziel war es, die Spar- und Kreditbedürfnisse der kleinbäuerlich-handwerklichen Bevölkerung abzudecken. Die 1920 gegründete und 1930 vom liechtensteinischen Fürstenhaus übernommene LGT Bank konzentrierte sich von Anfang an auf die Betreuung ausländischer Vermögen. Auch die 1956 entstandene Verwaltungs- und Privat-Bank (VP Bank) ist eng mit dem Treuhandwesen verbunden. Liechtenstein hat sich als Land der Vermögensverwaltung positioniert und Vertrauen als Grundwert etabliert. Heute ist der Finanzdienstleistungssektor mit rund 23% der Wirtschaftsleistung ein wichtiges Standbein der liechtensteinischen Wirtschaft (vgl. Abbildung 1).

Abbildung 1: Knapp ein Viertel der liechtensteinischen Wirtschaftsleistung stammt aus der Finanzindustrie.

Die Globalisierung der Weltwirtschaft führte zu einer engen Verknüpfung der internationalen Finanzmärkte und brachte ein weltweites Bedürfnis nach mehr Transparenz mit sich. Auch die Treuhand- und Finanzindustrie Liechtensteins musste sich dieser Veränderung stellen. Liechtenstein hat in den letzten 15 Jahren einen umfassenden Wandel vollzogen. Das Land verfolgt eine konsequente Weissgeldstrategie und hat sich mit der sogenannten «Liechtenstein-Erklärung» von 2009 zum OECD-Standard für Transparenz und Informationsaustausch in Steuerfragen bekannt. Seither verstärkt Liechtenstein die regulatorischen Massnahmen auf dem Treuhand- und Finanzplatz laufend und verfügt mittlerweile über ein dichtes Netz von bilateralen und multilateralen Abkommen über die Doppelbesteuerung und den Informationsaustausch in Steuersachen.

Nach allen Regeln der Kunst

Im Treuhandbereich bildet Vertrauen die Basis einer erfolgreichen Geschäftsbeziehung. Wo Vertrauen eine zentrale Rolle spielt, bleiben kriminelle Energie und betrügerische Absichten nicht aus. Eine der Stärken Liechtensteins besteht darin, dieses Vertrauen als höchstes Gut zu schützen. Im Juni 2019 kündigte S.D. Erbprinz Alois an, die gesetzlichen Grundlagen der Treuhandbranche weiter zu festigen. Mit einer Änderung des Treuhändergesetzes will das Ministerium für Präsidiales und Finanzen die Qualität im Treuhandsektor sichern, das Vertrauen in die Branche stärken und möglichen Missbräuchen und Betrug entgegenwirken. Der Antrag liegt derzeit in der Vernehmlassung. Im Weiteren soll die FMA eine ausgeprägtere aufsichtsrechtliche Funktion erhalten.

Die internationale Regulierung hat sich über die letzten Jahre ebenfalls drastisch verschärft, um Transparenz zu schaffen und Missbrauch zu verhindern (vgl. Abbildung 2). Im Kampf gegen Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung verfolgt Liechtenstein seit Jahren eine Null-Toleranz-Politik. Als EWR-Mitglied hat das Land die 4. EU-Geldwäschereirichtlinie und die Verordnung über die Übermittlung von Angaben bei Geldtransfers umgesetzt. Die Umsetzungsbestimmungen finden sich im Sorgfaltspflichtgesetz und in der Sorgfaltspflichtverordnung. Der Internationale Währungsfonds (IWF) und Moneyval haben Liechtenstein 2013/2014 hohe Standards bei der Bekämpfung von Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung bescheinigt.

Abbildung 2: Liechtenstein unterzieht sich einer gezielten Transformation zur Vertrauensnation.

Abbildung 2: Liechtenstein unterzieht sich einer gezielten Transformation zur Vertrauensnation.

Vom Off ins On

Im Rahmen ihres Verhaltenskodex für die Unternehmensbesteuerung (Code of Conduct) geht die EU gegen die Steuerhinterziehung an Offshore-Standorten wie den Britischen Jungferninseln, Bahamas, Bermuda oder den Kanalinseln vor. Neu benötigen dort ansässige Gesellschaften eine ausreichende wirtschaftliche Substanz vor Ort («economic substance») und unterliegen umfassenden Offenlegungspflichten. In der Folge dieser Verpflichtung werden viele Offshore-Strukturen nicht mehr aufrechterhalten, da sie die reale Wirtschaftstätigkeit nicht abbilden. Der Trend zu einer globalen Vermögensverschiebung von Offshore zu Onshore ist denn auch bereits in vollem Gang. Die heutigen Offshore-Vermögensstrukturen kehren zurück an den Ort der effektiv wirtschaftlich Begünstigten und werden sich vermutlich auf der ganzen Welt verteilen. Insbesondere im deutschsprachigen Raum bietet sich Liechtenstein als agile Jurisdiktion mit einem modernen Rechtssystem und internationaler Anerkennung an.

Klein, aber oho

Liechtenstein ist zwar ein kleines Land, verfügt aber über eine Reihe von interessanten Standortvorteilen. Alle dienen sie als ideale Voraussetzung für nachhaltige Vermögensstrukturen:

  • Die konstitutionelle Erbmonarchie basiert auf einer demokratisch-parlamentarischen Grundlage von 1719. Die Fürstenfamilie denkt in Generationen und verhindert kurzfristige Richtungswechsel. Das garantiert politische Stabilität.
  • Als Mitglied des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums (EWR) und als Zollunionspartner der Schweiz eröffnet Liechtenstein den Zugang zu zwei international etablierten Binnenmärkten.
  • Das liechtensteinische Bankensystem ist höchst stabil. Es weist hohe Tier-1-Ratios und solide Eigenkapitalfinanzierungsquoten auf.
  • Standard & Poor’s erteilt Liechtenstein jährlich wiederkehrend ein AAA-Rating. Durch eine hohe Haushaltsdisziplin ist Liechtenstein einer der wenigen Staaten ohne Staatsverschuldung.
  • Liechtenstein erfreut sich der höchsten Industriequote der Welt mit rund 43% der Bruttowertschöpfung.
  • Das totalrevidierte Gesellschafts-, Trust- und Stiftungsrecht ist modern und flexibel. Es geht auf die Bedürfnisse der heutigen Zeit ein und bietet eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten, insbesondere für Nachfolgelösungen.
  • 2011 fand eine Totalrevision des Steuerrechts statt. Die heutige Steuergesetzgebung erfüllt sämtliche internationalen Standards von EU und OECD.
  • In Liechtenstein wohnen rund 38’000 Menschen. Zudem pendeln über 20’000 Arbeitskräfte jeden Tag aus dem Ausland nach Liechtenstein. Insbesondere mit Österreich und der Schweiz steht Liechtenstein ein grosser Pool an Talenten und qualifizierten Arbeitskräften zur Verfügung.

Vertrauen als Chance für die Nachbarn

Liechtenstein hat die Bedürfnisse der globalisierten Weltwirtschaft erkannt und transformiert seine Treuhandbranche in eine der modernsten der Welt. Im Zentrum dieses Wandels steht das Vertrauen als einer der wichtigsten Erfolgsfaktoren.

Liechtenstein und die Schweiz sind nicht nur in einer gemeinsamen Zollunion miteinander verbunden. Vielmehr komplementieren sie sich auch in der Treuhand- und Finanzindustrie in vielerlei Hinsicht. Einerseits bietet Liechtenstein über 10’000 Schweizern einen Arbeitsplatz. Andererseits kann die Schweiz auf das moderne und flexible liechtensteinische Gesellschaftsrecht zugreifen. Dieses ermöglicht vermögenden Familien alternative Nachfolgelösungen. Zudem verfügt Liechtenstein über einen Marktzugang zur EU. In Kombination bieten die Schweiz und Liechtenstein für globale Bedürfnisse eine ideale Lösung. Eine, die selbst dem hohen Erwartungsdruck der internationalen Gemeinschaft standhält.

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Martin A. Meyer

Partner, Leader Tax, PwC Liechtenstein

Tel.: +41 58 792 42 96